Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Ha HA! Revenge for Cotton Eyed Joe is finally MINE!
2006-01-08 ~ 2:12 p.m.

Right. So, Debbie, Christine and I went karaoke-ing last night. Now first, y'all might want to check out my recap of the last time we went karaoke-ing.

And like last time, we had several people bail on us. Melissa and Krumpet were both unable to make it. Sad, but understandable.

So Debbie and I got there and had to wait over an hour for Christine. This? Pissed me off big time. Mostly because I had called her and she said she'd be there in half an hour and I asked if she wanted us to wait to order food until she got there and she said no, to go ahead and order for her because she'd be there soon. But the food came about forty minutes after we spoke and it just sat there and sat there and her fries were getting colder and colder and it was just such a WASTE I hate seeing food get cold (must be a throwback to my grandmother) but she finally showed up so yay.

While we were waiting Debbie and I were trying to decide what we were going to sing. SHE wanted to do an Eminem song. The Real Slim Shady, to be precise. I demurred. I reminded her of the Cotton Eyed Joe incident from last time. And then I remembered I had my iPod in the car. So I ran to get it and made her listen to the song and ten seconds in she said, "Oh no, we can't sing that, it's way too fast."

And I had my evil idea. "Oh but Debbie, I bet we could totally do Without Me" and before she could protest (much) I put in the slip.

Heh.

Eventually Christine showed up and I dragged the two of them up there even through Christine didn't know the song hardly at all and Debbie just knew the chorus, I knew enough of the verses so I looked good. But Debbie loooked like a flake.

See? Revenge.

(I have to say, to Debbie's credit, that she wasn't drunk. For a change. Which is good. I've gotten so tired of playing playground monitor with her (at HER request) to keep her from drinking too much. Friday night at Notty's I was running interference, fighting off all the menfolk who wanted to buy her a drink. Only to have Chandler turn around and buy her a beer behind my back. 'Course, I didn't know at the time he had bought it for her. See I wasn't paying attention for a moment and then I see her with a beer and I say, "Where did this come from?" and she denies all knowledge and I give the death glare to Sri Lankan guy who has been trying to buy her drinks all night and I say, "Whose is this?" and he looks sheepish and points to Chandler and says, "His?" So I give it to Chandler and say, "Here, have a beer" and at first he doesn't want it so I set it down and he does eventually end up drinking it. And it wasn't until the next day Debbie confessed that he had gotten it for her while I was off getting Chandler and I shots of Jaeger. He is in SO much trouble tomorrow)

Anyway, let's rejoin our story already in progress

But then! This girl we were sitting with wanted to sing Lady Marmalade. Christine agreed (WITHOUT consulting Deb or I.) But, by the time it was our turn again, this girl had left. And really....none of us knew this song at all well enough. Plus? I have the vocal talents of a fish.

But we got up there and gave it our best shot at first before finally giving up and shouting out various lines as they sounded familiar.

Oh, and Debbie had to yell "Titties!!" at one point.

Once the song FINALLY ended I offered my heartfelt apologies to the few people who were left.

It was NOT a good karaoke night. Those were the only two songs we got to do. There were a LOT of people wanting to sing. Debbie and I wanted to do Pour Some Sugar on Me and I was going to do Give it Away.

Oh well, next time. We found out Stone Cellar does karaoke on Sundays, and also Michael's Pub (although I'm not sure what nights)

On a completely different subject? (Well, not completely different, it is MOO-SICK related so...yeah). You know what I really hate? Fucking Emo. Who came up with this crap? Simple Plan: "Why did this happen to meeeeeeeeeee????" Oh shut the fuck up already, quit whining, get over it, you make me sick.

(This rant brought to you by some random Emo song (not Simple Plan) that just popped up on the iPod - I think I downloaded it during my downloading frenzy in October and just finally heard this song. I THINK it's Death Cab for Cutie. Okay, sorry, sorry, I know a lot of y'all like them but....ew, no.)

Anyway, must go get all prettified. Patrick is coming over this evening. That boy makes my tummy flutter and my toes curl. SQUEE!!!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo