Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

I need new music
2005-10-20 ~ 9:01 a.m.

So. What's hip, hot and rad in the world of all you 20-something trendsters I so envy?

Um. Well, envy is the wrong word. Makes me sound all pathetic. But I do miss being 22. Dancing almost every single night. Eating whatever I felt like because I knew I would burn it all off on the dance floor. Macking on random boys. And ah, what I wouldn't do for the body and the clothing budget I had back then.

Of course, that so-called budget was really just the credit limit on my numerous cards and since I spent the following ten years recovering from those few years of excess, I really don't need to be missing those days.

Sometimes, I look at the people around me at work, people who buy new clothes, shoes, vacations, whatever and I do, I envy them. But then I realize that they're going into debt up to their eyeballs to afford all that. I may not have the funky-freshest wardrobe in the world (Target and Wal-Mart shopper here) but at least I don't have debt either.

Anyway, back to the point of this entry. The other day, I was online and I noticed my internet (the RIGHT internet) was faster than normal. This is saying something because my desktop computer (the run which I run Limew1re on) is normally VERY slow, to the point of being almost completely unusable. It has something to do with the wireless network and Greg was supposed to have fixed it months ago but hasn't.

So I don't do much downloading.

So when I noticed the BLAZING FAST SPEED my first thought was, "Ooh, what should I download?"

And I couldn't think of anything. At first. Then I remembered that my copy of Blood Sugar Sex Magik was unplayable so I downloaded a burned a new copy.

Now, I have a cardinal rule about downloading. I won't download an entire CD. If I want a CD, I'll do the right thing and pay for it.

I made an exception in this case because I've already purchased at least two copies of this CD and I know it's legal to make a backup copy of something you already own. So yeah, I forgot to make a backup before the CD got destroyed but technicalities, people.

So, I downloaded this CD and I was blissfully happy and thinking, "Gosh, this is one of my favorite CDs EVER" and then I started making a mental list of my OTHER favorite CDs ever and this is what I came up with:


  • Appetitie for Destruction - Guns n Roses

  • Metallica (The Black Album) - Metallica (duh)

  • Epic - Faith No More

  • Licensed to Ill - Beastie Boys

  • Achtung Baby - U2

  • Automatic for the People - REM

  • Pretty Hate Machine - NIN

  • Little Earthquakes - Tori Amos

  • In My Tribe - 10,000 Maniacs

  • Chorus and Innocents- Erasure

  • Les Miz Soundtrack

  • Chess (London) Soundtrack

  • Jesus Christ Superstar Soundtrack

There are probably more that I'm forgetting but you get the idea. My CD collection is hopelessly stuck in the past.

So. Gimme suggestions. What hip and fresh and funky? Please no hip hop, I get enough of that from XM's 20 on 20. Not that I don't like hip hop, in particular Ludicris and Mister Meaner.

I like Jet and The Killers. And the Black Eyed Peas. And Gorrilaz. I like music with a bit of an edge to it, but not all thrashy and stuff. And I like funk. Flea is my hero.

So recommend me some good tracks. Not CDs, just a couple of good tunes to sample. If I like 'em, THEN I'll actually PURCHASE the CDs.

Thank you, I love you all, mwah mwah!!


ETA: Yes, yes, I know, any downloading is illegal. The way I look at it, I'm obeying the spirit of the law. I'm not downloading anything I would spend money on and I'm not sharing anything so I'm not taking money out of anyone's pockets. That's how I justify it to myself.
ET also A: My caveat about thrash up there doesn't mean I don't like bands like Limp Bizkit and Linkin Park and stuff like that because I DO. A lot. I just can't take them in large doses. But feel free to rec a good song or two in that vein as well.
ET also ALSO A: And please God, no emo. Simple Plan makes me hurl.
Okay, I'm giving up on the "ETA" conceit but I need to say - anyone who recommends Jesse McCartney will be shot on sight. He was cute on All My Children. Now, not so much.

Now I'm REALLY done.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo