Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Not exactly resolutions
2006-01-11 ~ 9:00 a.m.

Okay, as previously mentioned, I believe 2006 will be my Year of Overspending.

I got a head start on it in the last few months of 2005. Because as I lost weight, I needed new clothes. And Debbie and I went out usually at least twice a week. Not that I ever had a high bar tab but it added up.

This year, I'm kicking it up a notch.

Because I'm still losing weight. I'm only halfway to goal. But I will get there. By July. So I'm going to continue needing new clothes. Especially pants. I've purchased new tops and jeans since losing weight (I've dropped three sizes so far, go me!) but I can't find pants for work to save my life.

(Brief aside: Why is pants such a funny looking word? Should I say slacks instead? That doesn't look much better. But what else is there? Trousers? No.)

See because I have short little legs. Which means everything I find is too long for me. And I don't sew, Sam I am.

Now, I'm sure I could shop at some place a little more upscale than Target or Wal-Mart and find more clothes suited for petites. But I am cheap.

Although really, if I get a pair of well fitting and well designed pants, it'll be worth spending a little extra. Especially because, unlike tops, I can wear the same pair of pants two weeks in a row.

And I've also been buying a lot more bras and panties. Nothing too scandalous. Yet. Let me get to goal first.

So yeah, item number one for the new year: More clothes.

Item number two: Entertainment. I actually think that might take a bit of a downward turn. Not that I'm not going to be going out as much but I'm not going to let Debbie stick me with the tab as much as she has been. I've always been bad like that. If someone can't afford to go out and have fun with me then I offer to pay for them. It's my own damn fault, I know. Although I think Deb might have been taking advantage of this just a bit much.

Okay, item three: Sephora. Sarah has sold me on the beauty and wonder that is Sephora and I have a whole list of products to try so yep, I'll be dropping a boatload there one of these days.

And also, item four: Shoes. I think I might finally take the plunge into full-fledged womanhood and start buying shoes. Maaaaaaybe. I'm not 100 percent committed to this plan, but I did get pangs of lust a few weeks ago whilst having a conversation with Sarah and Michelle prior to my purchase of the fabled knee high boots. (Heeeeey...speaking of the knee high boots, maybe I'll wear them today. Nah, not today, maybe tomorrow. I need to get some tights first)

Okay, item five, and this is the exciting part: ROAD TRIPS!!

I was talking to Patrick the other night and he was talking about all these places and he wants to go and things he wants to see. Historical stuff and stuff. And I said, "You know, I've never had to urge to travel and see stuff but now,it's all sounding so interesting." And it does, I think one day I might want to get out and see the sights of the world. But right now, I've got the urge to travel the country and meet some of the terrific people I've met here and elsewhere.

I'm definitely roadtripping to Roanoke in April to visit Taylor. I'm also going to be going to Phoenix and Las Vegas in October (probably) to visit Jacki and Lissy (respectively). Not sure whether I'm going to fly into Phoenix and drive to Vegas or vice versa. I'll decide later.

And! I am very much considering a trip to New England to see Jackie and Anne and Jenny and Nire. Jackie, hon, what's the best time of year to visit?

So anyway, that's my plan for 2006. Now, I need to figure out how to finance these plans. And by finance, I don't mean borrow. So yeah, in order to do all this, I have to step up the pace at work. I'm on a high now. Two days into the week and I've already exceeded my weekly goal. I should very easily make my bonus for this week. If I can maintain this pace, then the weekly and monthly bonuses will come rolling in. I'm roughly 8 months to getting my portfolio to the level to earn my next salary increase so hopefully I'll have that to finance my October trip (which will be by far the most expensive since I have to fly)

So that's my plan. I intend to return to this entry often when I find my motivation flagging at work.

(Sigh. Yes, yes, I know, this sounds totally fiscally irresponsible of me. Spend spend spend on clothes and shoes and makeup and drink and travel. Grow up, Vicki! Yeah, whatever, shut it, I have a retirement plan. Okay, so I have no LIQUID savings, fine, I'll work on that too, okay? Does that make you happy, huh huh huh???? And it's not like I'm going to take money AWAY from the other things I do (Like providing for my kids. Or paying my bills. So bite me)

Squee-Girl: Defensive much, Vicki?
Me: Right. I don't need this abuse. I'm outta here.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo