Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

2004 Vicki Movie Awards
2005-01-18 ~ 12:33 a.m.

(Whoops, I totally forgot I was going to do this)

So now, without further ado (and only about two weeks late) I bring you the first annual Vicki Movie Awards!!!


Most Inappropriate Kiss: Tom Welling and Bonnie Hunt in Cheaper by the Dozen - Okay, so my kids and I had spent two hours watching these two actors interact as mother and son. And then the credits roll, with the ever popular outtake reel, so we linger. And then, the passionate smooch that shook America - mother and son in a lustful embrace! Ooh! Ah!

Worst Ending: Fifty First Dates - You know, I realize that there's probably some artistic credibiity involved in shying away from the "happily ever after" fairytale ending, but can we save that for the edgy dramas? I'm sorry, when I watch an Adam Sandler/Drew Barrymore comedy, I'm not looking for realism. Give me fluff, damnit, and be snappy about it.

Best sidekick, marine based: Abe Sapien, Hellboy - He and Hellboy just had such natural rapport.

Best sidekick, land based: Puss in Boots, Shrek - I don't have a lot of respect for Antonio Bananas....but I gotta admit, he did go up a notch or two after this role.

Most jarring use of humor: Punisher - the scene with Frank and the Russian - yes, it was funny, but it just felt WRONG - it seemed for a minute that I was watching a different movie.

Most unintentionally hilarious moment: Hugh Jackman howling at the moon at the end of Van Helsing - Oy.

Worst adaptation from a book: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - Loved the book, frustrated by the movie. I worry about the future of the franchise - the remaining books (well, four and five at least) just get more complex and harder to contain in one feature length movie

Biggest Suprise: Garfield - I LOVED this movie, I really did. I thought it would suck, I went to see it fully expected to suffer through every moment....but it didn't suck. It was fun and adorable and I think I've seen it at least four times now.

Best single moment: Spider-Man 2 - After Spidey stops the subway and he starts to collapse, all these hands reach out to hold him back. That moment, those hands, the gentleness with which they caught him, their thankfulness, their LOVE was evident in their touch. Hats off to Sam Raimi!

Best musical romp: Benjamin Bratt and Halle Berry playing basketball in Catwoman - It doesn't hurt that I love that song (Scandalous)

Best use of poop: The eco-girls in Without a Paddle - Bombs away!!!

Worst use of talent: Shark Tale - Will Smith, Renee Zellweger, Angelina Jolie, Jack Black, Martin Scorsese, Robert DeNero - Oh C'MON!!! With a cast like that, it should be a crime to make a movie this awful. What a total waste of resources.

Best Ending: The Incredibles - Baby Jack-Jack's "blossoming". I was expecting SOMETHING to happen with that baby....but still, I was totally surprised and laugh out loud amused.

Most forgettable: (tie) Taking Lives and Twisted - I would say more but....um, yeah, I forgot.

Best bada**: Blade - Holy crap! That man skeers me....

Best children: The kids from Lemony Snickett's A Series of Unfortunate Events - I thought those kids did an awesome job and Sunny was just adorable.


Okay, that's it. If you want to read my best and worst list, it's right here.

::vicki laments the poor timing that has caused her to follow the Golden Globes::

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo