Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Movies 2004
2005-01-05 ~ 2:56 p.m.

::confetti::

Here it is - the list of all the (theatrical) movies I've seen this year, in order from best to worst. (bear in mind, although this SHOULD go without saying, that these are strictly MY opinions)

1)Spider-Man 2 - No contest. THE best super hero movie, ever. In the first movie, Tobey Maguire became Peter Parker. In this movie, he truly became Spider-Man as well.

2)Shrek 2 - I admit it, I cried.

3)The Incredibles - I was prepared to be disappointed, simply because I was looking forward to this movie SO much. But I wasn't. Yay Pixar!!

4)Blade:Trinity - It lacked the emotional resonance of Spider-Man 2, but made up for it with spectactular action scenes. Take the subway scene from Spider-Man and multiply it by 20 - that's how intense this whole movie felt.

5)Garfield - I honestly thought this movie would suck big time, but Bobby wanted to see it and I'm glad he did.

6)Punisher - Brutal.

7)Without a Paddle - Very very juvenile. Very, very funny.

8)Catwoman - While not great, another movie that wasn't anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be

9)Secret Garden
10)Fifty First Dates
11)Cheaper by the Dozen
12)Taking Lives
13)Twisted

14)Polar Express - Don't get me wrong, the movie was magical, WHILE IN THE MOMENT - but that magic faded as soon as the movie ended. I just found it to be a totally forgettable flick.

15)Lemony Snickett's A Series of Unfortunate Events - Ugh. I'm sorry, I WANTED to like this movie, I really did. I started to feel anxious about it when I saw the trailer prior to The Incredibles. I feared the Jim Carrey was going to do his patented over the top schtick and he did....which might have been fine for some other character in some other movie, but NOT for Count Olaf. It threw the whole movie off. I felt that each scene was just a set up for another "tour de force" from Carrey. Many of the individual scenes, WITHOUT him, were terrific, the kids were wonderfully cast and excellent performers, but Jim Carrey's dreadful performace ruined it for me. (And I'm a huge fan of his - this was just the wrong role for him)

16)Hellboy - It just didn't make sense. The plot was unfollowable.

17)Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban - Another movie I wanted to love. I love the books and I really enjoyed the first two movies, but this one? The problem is that there was too much book and not enough movie. I had read the book so I was able to pretty much follow what was going on, although I felt like I was watching the Cliff Notes version of the book. But Bobby had never read it and I could feel him getting frustrated by the entanglements of the story. The upside though is that the conversation we had following the movie led him to start reading the books....and now he loves them as much as I do!

18)Shark Tale - When I first saw the previews for this I thought it would be lousy. I was right. Boooooring!

19)Van Helsing - ::sighs:: Ludicrous, hackneyed, ridiculous, awful. As sucky as it was though, this movie will always be remembered as the movie Bobby and I saw the night he proposed. Well, that, and Evil Dead (heh, heh)

Okay, that's it.....but stay tuned for The Vicki Movie Awards, featuring Best Use of Poop in a Motion Picture!!!!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo