Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Every home needs one of these
2005-03-21 ~ 12:51 p.m.

Yep, it's a chocolate fountain.

Just pause to let that sink in a moment (well, for those of you who have never seen one of these things....I realize that I may be the only person in the universe to whom the idea of warm running chocolate is new)

I repeat....warm, running chocolate.

::wipes drool from chin::

So, yeah, I was at work Saturday afternoon, minding my own business, alphabetizing away, when my phone rang. Huh? No one is in the office today, who the heck is calling me?

It was Joe, our Director of Community Affairs (not to be confused with recently scandalized Joe.) Apparently, the company had purchased a table for 10 (at $125 a pop!) at The 8th Annual Chocolate Ball, which is the annual fundraiser for The ARC of Howard County. But, another Director and his wife had had to cancel, so Joe needed to find someone to fill the table. So he called me and all I needed to hear was "Chocolate Ball" and I was all hellayeah, I want to go!!

So I did. And it was fun. But not as fun as the library event I went to, which was much less frou frou, but still more fun (probably cus I had my brother with me there, and I was flying solo at Saturday's event)

But holy cow was I intimidated! All the women were in ball gowns and the men were in tuxes!!! I wore the same getup that I wore to the library gala, so I didn't feel TOO underdressed. (and yes, Yvonne, I did get a picture this time, it's down at the bottom)

The food was excellent. In addition to the chocolate (again, see pictures below) they had some foodie type creations (shrimp cocktail served in a martini glass with a corn and black bean salsa and fried tortilla strips and carmelized onion scallops with a poblano chili polenta served on a pomegrante reduction with fried leek garnish) - but the buffet lines were ridiculous.

And the entertainment was lame. The magician (the theme for the evening was The Magic of the Night) was met with thunderous silence (despite his pleas for thunderous applause) and as for the band....I've seen better at karaoke (which admittedly isn't saying much cus I've seen some great karaoke - but that line got a nice laugh from the rest of the table so I'm happy with that)

But OOH! They had all sorts of little liquor samples....served in very small glasses so you could try lots of different stuff and still not get drunk. They had a few different tequilla drinks and various dessert wines. That was very nice.

And mixing with a few of the higher ups from work is always a good thing - as long as I don't do something stupid like dribble chocolate on myself at the chocolate fountain. Oh wait! I DID do that.

And of course, the highlight of the event was the chocolate table. Mom and De told me to make sure to bring some back. So I did. I loaded up my plate, took it back to the table, ate a few pieces and discreetly stuffed the rest in one of the goodies bags on the table. Joe told me to go back and get more, so I did (after waiting a while, cus I wanted to make sure there was plenty for everyone...I needn't have worried). And then, after my second trip to the chocolate table, Joe tipped the tray of chocolate that was sitting on our dinner table into my bag as well.

So I brought lots of chocolate home. See?

And here are my pics of the chocolate table:

Finally, here's me. Sadly, because I'm all in black, you really can't get a good look at the ensemble....but I did look good ::grins::



Quick question. How many other people are still missing images? I went back and reuploaded most of mine, but some of my pics (most notably my Christmas pics and my Ben the Camera Hog pics) I no longer have stored on any of my computers. I still have them on Ofoto so I can still recover them....but do y'all think Andrew will get them back up eventually?

Also, I'm thinking of sending an ecard to thank Andrew cus he said this whole experience depressed him so if anyone wants to sign their (virtual) name to it, just let me know



Today's (super easy) 80's lyric comes to you courtesy of Saturday's spectacularly cheesy band:

Everybody's movin', everybody's groovin' baby

Answer in comments please

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo