Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Another sleepy Sunday
2005-02-27 ~ 11:28 a.m.

::yawns::

Good morning, Diaryland, and how are you on this lovely day?

Personally, I am luxuriating in doing nothing. For the first time in several nights, I feel like I got a full night's sleep. Nothing woke me up this morning but ME!

Yesterday had it's highs and lows. I believe I've done some mild bitching over the last week about network problems I've been having with my new computer. It's been very wonky about conecting to the network. Everything will be hunky dory for a while but then I'll lose the network connection. I go through all the trouble shooting stuff to fix it but nothing works. BUT - if I leave it alone and then come back to it awhile later, it will have magially reconnected.

I'm sorry, but a brand new computer should NOT be this flaky. And I know it's the computer because my laptop still works.

Greg has been over several times to try to fix it. Yesterday he brought me a new network card but that didn't fix the problem. Since the hang up seems to be with resetting the IP address, he decided to assign a static address to my machine. That's when it really got screwy and refused to even start up. From this point on, it all gets way too geeky for me to even figure out what happened, let alone try to explain it. But the bottom line, as Greg told me, is that the hard drive is bad and all the flakiness was related to that.

So, I've ordered a new hard drive, the cost of which Greg is deducting from what I owe him for the PC.

That was the sucky part of my day. I have to wait for it to be delivered and then Greg has to install it, so I'm back to my crappy laptop for a while.

The high point was this gala I went to at the library last night. Now, I don't have much in the way of fancy dress clothes, just this one long black dress, so that's what I planned to wear. But it's sleeveless, so I was kvetching about how I was going to be cold. Well, lo and behold, Mom pulls out this beautiful black wrap. It's sheer black with an inch wide satin trim all around. Very pretty and it really dressed up the dress. (She also lent me a little black bag)

And I'm so glad she did because this thing was even fancier than I thought it would be. There were spotlights in the parking lot, for crying out loud. Plus, a good number of our state senators and our county executive and leaders of industry and holy moly was I intimidated.

But I had my (mom's) beautiful black wrap and somehow, not having bare shoulders gave me the confidence to mingle and converse and name drop with the best of them.

And I got to practice balancing a cocktail plate in one hand while holding a wine glass in the other with my purse over the crook of my elbow and trying to keep my wrap draped just so. Good lord, how do people do it? Between that and trying to be on my best behavior, I was so incredibly stressed.

(I suspect some ladies must use double stick tape to keep their wraps in place. I tell ya, Hope and Marlena never seem to have this problem with their pretty little pashminas draped just so.)

But Greg and I had fun stalking the "chicken guy" - this one waiter who was carrying a tray of chicken kabobs with a coconut crust served with a hot mustard sauce. Boy oh boy, were those things good.

And we both got face time with people who were important to us, career wise. Him with the Director of our county's Economic Development Authority, who wants Greg to do some contract work for them, and me with my company's PR Director, who is someone who can't help me directly, but she's still a good person to know. Our Director of Community Affairs was there as well and he's going to try to get me invited to more of these things, which is good, I really need to get better at schmoozing with the higher ups in my company.



Okay, here goes with another song lyric. It may not be from the 80's, could be early 90's, but again, I just love this line.

Give me every little bit of your love's what I said
Make it smooth to the groove like sandwich bread

Answer in comments please



And now, I'm off to find breakfast. Toodles!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo