Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Brushes with fame
2008-08-13 ~ 2:43 p.m.

Last night, while trying in vain to sleep amidst all the noise and rustling and scratching and fidgeting coming from the other side of the bed, I started thinking about a question I saw on a recent MySpace survey.

(Yes, Jack has wicked insomnia and it was worse last night because he also has eczema and said eczema was exacerabated by dehydration caused by the consumption of one too many beers, sigh...)

(Speaking of beer! Like, OMG y'all! I have become the biggest beer geek in the past few months since Jack has been working as the chef at one of the best beer bars in Baltimore. (No, not Max's) Last night I had a big ol' bottle of Southern Tier's Creme Brulee. Now that's a sippin' beer. Absolutely fabulous. HUGE nose! Just like sniffing an actual creme brulee. If you like big bold beers I would suggest this. That is all)

(Also, Southern Tier's Pumking is also pretty darned good)

(Despite the plugs, Southern Tier is NOT my current favorite brewery. That honor is divided between Canada's Unibroue (pronounced UniBREW not UniBROW although that would be funny) and Balmer's own Clipper City.)

MOVING ON!

So the MySpace bulletin queston in question went something like this: Are there any famous people in your family?

So my mind started wandering. I THOUGHT there was some family fame connection but I couldn't put my finger on it.

My sister-in-law (Jack's sister) and her kids are all SAG members. Ann has walk on parts in Step Up (which was left on the cutting room floor) and Step Up 2 (in which she did make it to the screen but we haven't seen it yet). Patrick (or is it Riley? Not sure, they're twins) was in a commerical for Moon Sand (and if you have kids, you've seen this commercial!). Riley (or is it Patrick) and his sister Caroline had bit parts in the Night at the Museum sequel and apparently Caroline and Ben Stiller are close likethis because they both "like Canada". Or something. This is what Caroline said.

Lesee. Two of the kids were also in an episode of America's Most Wanted. Caroline has been in a few full page print ads.

Ann's brother in law is apparently very involved with TMZ.com. And is also a producer or something on the Ellen show and there is word that he might get Ann an appearance to promote her Small Pet Funeral Set.

Jack's cousin used to hang out with John Waters(and possibly still does.)

On my side....my mom lived in the same neighborhood with and played basketball with the future Kareem Abdul Jabaar and my dad rode the city bus with Linda Lovelace (an anectdote that my mom hates hearing about, heh)

And of course, I went to school with Edward Norton. OH! And I think Krumpet's mom somehow knew Brad Pitt or knew someone who knew him.

So this was pretty much my thought process last night. Eventually I fell asleep.

So to answer the original question. No, there are no famous people in my family, but there are a few random brushes with fame.

What about you guys?

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo