Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Hot potato, Vicki-style!
2005-09-11 ~ 9:13 p.m.

This is a can of papaya chunks:

Why, you may ask, do I have a can of papaya chunks? Or at the very least, you may ask why I find it necessary to photograph them and share them with the world? And you also might ask why that can looks so bent and bruised and do I actually intend to EAT those?

EAT them? Oh heavens no!

See, back in 1992 my friend Charles moved in with me and Krumpet. Somehow, someway, he brought that can of papaya chunks with him. I'll admit to being a bit hazy on the details (check comments sometime Monday afternoon, I'll sure Krumpet will correct any inaccuracies) but I think that his folks had loaded him up with all their unwanted foodstuffs when he moved out of their home and in with us.

So the papaya chunks entered the picture.

Since that time, they've been passed back and forth between the three of us, always secreted away in the other person's belongings, not to be discovered until it was too late, Ethel.

When Charles and Krumpet and I all moved out of the condo we shared, each going our separate ways, someone (I never found out who) hid the papaya chunks in one of my boxes. I found them while unpacking and IMMEDIATELY drove to Krumpet's workplace and left them in the back of her p'up.

I then scampered off again but her coworkers went and reported to her that some strange girl was messing around in her trunk.

She managed to return them to me a few years later by smuggling them into Lissa's diaper bag. And they went back and forth for a while after that.

Somehow, the topic of the papaya chunks came up yesterday while we were freezing swimming in the POOL. I realized I did not know where they were. Last I knew, Krumpet had them in her refrigerator but I hadn't seen them for awhile. I became alarmed that she had left them at my house last time she visited and they had been so far undiscovered.

Questioning of Tea and Krumpet yielded nothing. NOTHING, I say.

So when Krumpet's husband Jon returned home that night, I interrogated him instead, sure that I could get him to crack. I love Jonny to death but he's a bit....blond. Well, what do you expect. He's one of those furriners. You know - ::whispers:: - British. Them Brits are flaky ones, let me tell ya.

(Mmm....flaky. I'd kill for a biscuit)

But he gave nothing away either.

Darn those Brits.

Finally, I left to head home with my towel and wet bathing suit in a bag Krumpet had provided.

Five minutes later, my phone rings. It's Krumpet.

"Did I forget something," I ask.

"Oh nooooo," she sweetly replies. "You didn't forget a thing."

GASP!!!!

I quickly rummaged in the bag and discovered the cold can of papaya chunks.

"They WERE in the refrigerator!!!", I hissed.

So. Yeah. Krumpet, you got me. Good work.

I am SO mailing these to Charles. Either that, or I'm dropping them in her POOL. (After securely wrapping them in Glad Press n Seal, of course)

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo