Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Sheesh! Enough with the pressure!
2005-09-02 ~ 8:38 p.m.

No, no, it's okay, I kid. It's lovely to be missed, thank you Smed and realsnoopy

It's been hard for me to write this week. I just don't know what to say. Katrina and her aftermath weigh heavily on my mind. But what can I say that everyone else hasn't already said? For me to talk about how I feel about what's going on just feels....self-centered to me. And normally I embrace my self-centeredness unreservedly. Heck, one of my most successful banners states, "It really is all about me."

As most of you are aware, my job is in the financial services industry. Specifically debt management. I spoke with a woman a few weeks ago who was desperate for help. I talked to her, got some information and determined that we could help her. She started crying, thanking me and "God bless you"-ing me.

I made a routine follow up call to her Tuesday but I couldn't get the call through. I got an "all circuits are busy message." And that's when I realized she was in Lousiana. Boothville to be exact.

So I Mapquested her. Go ahead, look at the map. I'll wait here.

That made it real for me. But strangely, after that I was numb for awhile. Then, my friend Nire linked to a bunch of blogs and I started reading.

And I started sobbing. I mean, choking, gasping for breath sobbing. And I kept that thick fog of depression over me for way longer than I would have liked.

I'm feeling better now. I wish I could say the same for the residents of Lousiana and Mississpi. As for my customer, I haven't been able to get in touch with her yet. I'm going to keep trying though, I'll keep dialing until my fingers fall off.

I'd like to segue into something a little more like the Vicki you have come to know and love but it just seems wrong right now. Maybe later tonight.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo