Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Giving props to my peeps
2005-08-13 ~ 10:47 p.m.

Okay, first, I added some stuff to my last entry. Basically I emailed Chel back to tell him he was a geek and he sent another long drawn out and well researched email on the topic of "What is a geek?"

I just pasted it into my last entry. The formatting is lousy, but....well, I doubt anyone will read that far. I just added it for historical purposes.

Okay, so, props. First off, Smed recognized the ladyfingers quote almost immediately. It is of course the final line to Stephen King's short story, Survivor Type (about a doctor who is stranded on a deserted island and begins amputating his own body part to feed upon),

Go read Smed. He's funny.

Also, another fairly recent find: Mandy (Moo). She is my kindred diary spirit or something. Seriously, if you like me, go read her. She cracks me up.

Okay, moving on.

So, that secret I was referring to a few entries ago? It's out now so I can share. My former boss, Jeff has just been promoted back into a mangement position. (If anyone is interested in how he went from being my manager to just another coworker, the story is here. "They" needed to keep in hush hush for a while because there were three former managers who applied for the position and only two were selected. So the third had to be dealt with tactfully before an announcement was made.

Interestingly enough, (and this will explain how I figured out what was going on before it was announced) when the job posting came out it was for an Account Services coach. The woman who monitors our calls for quality assurance purposes (thank you Linda Tripp for the years and years I had to say "This call may be monitored or recorded for quality assurance purposed") told me I should apply for it. I told her she was out of her mind and no way did I want to have anything to do with account services. I'm a sales rep, not a customer service rep, thankyouverymuch. I'd rather rip people off (I joke, I joke!) than listen to them bitching. Cathi told me that the position was most likely going to turn out to be for the Sales Manager position but I still declined to interview. But that's why it was so easy to put two and two together when muckety-mucks starting coming up to Jeff and shaking his hand.

So, yeah, blah blah blah. Really not a lot of fascinatingness going on right now. I'm visiting with Bobby for the weekend but at this moment, I'm all aloney on my owney. I drove up here this morning, leaving at 3:30 and arriving at 6:30 (here is Allentown, PA, if you care.) It's strange timing I know, but he's working 6pm to 6am and the company he is working for has put him up in a hotel for the duration. Which means I can't get here until he gets back from work because the hotel staff won't let me into his room.

So, we were both tired, me from driving (and on 3 hours of sleep) and him from working. We watched TV for a while and went to sleep. We had a few minutes together before he had to leave for work again. It's not much but it's better than nothing. When you're in a long distance relationship, sometimes you take what you can get.

Luckily, he won't be here for too much longer. Once he's back in Kentucky at his regular job he'll be able to take time off again to spend with me when I visit for the weekend.

And of course, he's still planning on visiting next month.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, blah, blah, blah, I still have nothing interesting to say.

I'm reading The Innocent by Harlen Coben. He writes thrillers. I like them. Yay. But, this particular book had a very strange reference that seemed out of place. He made reference to Diagon Alley. It was just weird. Coben has never really been one to make the pop cultural references that an author like, oh, say Stephen King, is known for.

(Wow, talk about comma abuse. I know I screwed up the punctuation on that sentence)

So yeah, I'm done. This was truly a pointless entry. I'm really sorry. I'll do better next time.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo