Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Ooh, news!
2005-08-15 ~ 11:58 p.m.

So. Dave and Inez are getting married this week.

I know Dave had been talking about it. Yes, I know how incredibly bizarre it is, but he's been asking my advice about what to do. Seems Inez's attorney doesn't think Inez has much of a chance of getting John back unless she and Dave are married.

Which shouldn't be a problem, I mean, they've been together for two years, right?

Except they fight a lot. But Dave thinks (and I agree) that the reason for the fighting is simply that they're both so stressed out over this custody battle thing. And that once things are resolved (for good or ill) then things will settle down.

But still, Dave wasn't sure about marrying her during a time when they're not getting along.

Then he thought that they could get married at the court house, go to the trial in Texas, and then get an annullment afterwards. So they could get married properly when they were really ready to.

I wasn't in favor of that idea really but I told Dave to talk to their lawyer and do whatever they thought best.

So today Inez called me to find out the exact date that my divorce from Dave was final. Because she's applying for a marriage license.

Man, this is just one f***ed up situation. The social worker from Texas finally turned in her report last week recommending that Inez and her mother share custody but that John's residence should legally remain Texas. Which means that joint custody don't mean jack unless Inez moves to Texas.

And you know why she recommended that? In part because Dave and Inez were living together even while Dave and I were still married and Inez and her ex were still married. Never mind that Dave and I were legally separated four days after I left and that Inez and Phillip hadn't lived together (or even in the same state) for eight years. The fact that they were living together while married to others was "unacceptable" in the words of the social worker.

Ugh.

So anyway, Inez's divorce from Phillip was finalized last week and she and Dave are getting married, probably on Wednesday. I asked Dave whether he still planned to annul it afterwards and he said (very tenderly, which touched my heart - they may fight but he really loves this woman. And, unlike me, she can give it right back to him. I used to just roll over and play dead when he got confrontational but she'll go round for round with him. I've read before that a marriage made of two avoiders or two confronters is equally likely to succeed but a marriage made of an avoider and a confronter is practically doomed. And Dave is definitely a confronter and I am defintely an avoider. Although I'm working on it. But I digress. Where was I?)

Oh yeah, and Dave said, "No, I'm going to stick with her." Now the words probably don't mean much but he said them so sweetly it almost made me cry. I'm happy for them, truly.

I wonder about how Inez is going to take it if things don't go their way though. Dave says she's prepared for the worst. I hope so, because I don't have a very good feeling about this.

In more exciting news, Dave's mother is going to watch the kids while they're in Texas next week and I'm going to cat sit their cat. Her name is Catherine. Short for cat. I named her.

So we'll be a three cat household for a few days. This will be fun.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo