Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Feelin' pretty
2005-07-25 ~ 3:45 p.m.

Tina and I scooted out of work early Friday night to do some shopping. (VERY early for her actually, she was supposed to be here until 11pm but we left at 7pm. I only left an hour early though.). Her man had been complaining that she never dresses up anymore, that she�s letting herself go, looking like a slob, blah blah blah. Never mind the fact that she just had a baby last December.

But, she decided to turn this to her advantage and go out and buy herself a new outfit. Or two. And shoes to match. But while we were out, I started grousing about how my wardrobe needs a rehaul but I can never find anything I like. Tina said there was lots of cute stuff, right there at that store we were in (Old Navy). So I challenged her. I told her to find something cute and I�d buy it.

AND SHE DID!!!!

I wish I had a picture but I don�t so I�ll just have to describe. She found a black top with a layered look. Black tank top with a sheer black shell on top. And a pair of capris. And she MADE me buy a pair of flip-flops. I�ve never worn flip flops in my life, at least, not in my memory. I kept asking, are you SURE this is okay to wear to work? And she assured me that it is, but then she asked what I wear when I�m with Bobby. And I told her just jeans and a tee shirt. She said I should make more of an effort to look pretty for him. I don�t know whether that�s necessary (he often tells me I�m pretty, even when I�m at my grubbiest) but I might as well make an effort to look pretty for MYSELF.

So we then proceeded to pick up a box of hair dye because my roots were showing something awful. And then we went to get my brows done because I had been neglecting them. Long boring story short, I was very prettified when I visited with Bobby this weekend.

Sadly, we didn�t get to spend a lot of time together because he�s working these twelve hour shifts. But at least for the time we were together and he was awake he was very appreciative.

But I�m not sold on the flip flops. I mean, yes, it was very nice to have them to slip into when I wanted to pad down the hall at the hotel where he was staying to get a soda. Not having to deal with lacing up my sneakers is a definite plus. But, they clop clop when I walk and driving in them was difficult. And I don�t have very pretty feet either. I thought about painting my toenails but realized I would probably end up collapsing on the bathroom floor if I did.

And, amazingly enough, I did well on the diet. I thought I had totally trashed it Saturday night. I went out for dinner and got steak and a baked potato and salad and biscuits. I only used half the butter, sour cream and salad dressing they gave me, and I didn�t eat the biscuits at all but I was still certain I had totally gone over my weekly flex points allowance. It wasn�t until Sunday morning that I had the courage to actually tally them up but it turns out I didn�t do as bad as I thought. I still have about five flex points left for the rest of the week (which ends Wednesday)

Driving back from Allentown last night I saw two items of note. First was a road sign pointing towards a certain city. The city? Virginville. Now, I�m willing to bet that the city is actually pronounced with more of a German inflection (given that the rest of the area seemed to have a heavy German influence) so it probably sounds more like �Vergenville��.but c�mon, change the spelling or something.

I also saw a REAL LIVE HORSE AND BUGGY. On the highway. Ye Gods!

But no McDonalds. That really surprised me, I didn�t see a single McDonalds until I got out of Pennsylvania. And I had planned to allow myself one little hamburger (since it was 6pm and I hadn�t eaten since 7am)

But it�s all okay. Not stopping at McDonalds meant I could make dinner at home and, I made the yummiest sandwich for dinner. Vine ripe tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, a little bit of salt and pepper, olive oil and high quality balsamic vinegar on whole grain bread. VERY yummy.

So, I�m feeling pretty AND virtuous. Yay me.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo