Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Ho-Ho-Halt
2004-12-26 ~ 8:25 p.m.

So this was Christmas:

The PLAN was that Dave and Inez would spend Christmas Eve with the kids at Mike and Rosa's house (Mike is Dave's sister; Rosa is his wife). Then Christmas Day, I would have my children and Dave and Inez and John would go to visit with her family.

HA!

Did someone say "plan"? That's a sure sign that something will go wrong.

Lissa must have called me at least six times from Mike and Rosa's house. She was miserable because she wanted me there with her. She tried going to Inez for comfort, but John would have none of it. He has become very possessive of his mother and thinks it's incredibly unfair that my kids essentially have three parents and he has none.

So Inez refused to give Lissa the hugs she wanted and needed because if she did, John would throw a tantrum.

::sighs::

I can understand that he's hurting and upset now, and I sympathize with him, I DO....but he is SUCH a whiny little brat.

So no one really had a good time Christmas Eve.

Christmas morning, I go up to Dave and Inez's house so that they can leave to go to her cousin's. Shortly after they leave, Mom calls. She wants to postpone our Christmas celebration at her house because she and Auntie De are sick....as in, vomiting sick.

Okay, I understand. The kids weren't that upset because that meant they would have Christmas three days in a row. Christmas Eve with Mike and Rosa. Christmas Day at their house (they opened presents before Dave and Inez and John left) and Boxing Day at my house.

AND, I made homemade waffles, which they love.

So all was well and no one cried when Dave and Inez got back and it was time for me to go home.

I was miserable last night though, at least for a while. Our heat is still out and it's below 60 degrees in here. I was starving, there was no food in the house (except for the turkey that Mom and De hadn't made) and the stores were closed so I couldn't GET any food, and I had a killer migraine (because I had not had my daily requirement of Diet Coke).

But then it got better because we opened gifts between the four of us and I FINALLY got a digital camera!! I know, I'm the last kid on my block to get one but I DON'T CARE!!!!

And then Dad and I went for Chinese carryout and Hot and Sour soup made me warm, and the Diet Coke I got made my headache lessen.

Then this morning, 8am, Mom says she needs to cancel Christmas. They're still sick. So we unpack the box my grandmother sent and open those gifts. Now, my grandmother is...well, getting older, and gifts from her are always a bit of a crapshoot. This year, though, she really took the cake. She got my mom an AOL CD.

Yep, the ones that AOL has blanketed the nation with.

::shakes head::

So, I take all the kids' gifts up to Dave's house and they all opened them and John was a bit miffed that he didn't get anything (of course, he conveniently forgot about the TWELVE Pokemon booster packs I gave him Christmas Day) but basically, all went well.

Just not as planned.

And there has been no Christmas dinner.

(See last entry for pics.)

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo