Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Vicki the Spazzoid
2005-02-17 ~ 11:13 p.m.

It took me ten years to forget the lyrics to Billy Joel's "We Didn't Start the Fire" and only five days to remember them. It's amazing what we store in our long term memory cells, isn't it?

So yeah, I heard that song on the radio Friday for the first time in about a decade and I tried to sing along but kinda stumbled over the lyrics....man how I used to love that song. Amazingly enough, I heard that some poll somewhere rated it the worst song of the 80's? Like, WTF?! Anyway, although I seemed to have forgotten the lyrics, I guess hearing the song Friday jogged something loose in my brain cus when I heard it this morning, I totally sang along and dropped hardly a syllable.



Okay. Why is it I can use words like epistolary and jejune in a book review but I can't figure out how to spell syllable? (Oh yeah, I posted a few new mini reviews.)


Sometime after the Billy Joel experience, I heard another 80's tune on the XM. This one I barely recognized however. I caught the title ("Soldier of Love" - it was pretty darned obvious from the chorus) but couldn't place the artist so I finally peeked down at my digital display. Donny Osmond. DONNY OSMOND???!!!!! I literally threw my head back and howled with laughter. Although I think I really worried the drivers around me at that moment


And, because I love 80's music so much, I am going to start a little 80's trivia game of sorts. I'll post a line or two from one of the 80's songs I hear during my morning commute and will award an official Vicki No-Prize to the first person to get it right. No, strike that. I'll keep track and at the end of an undesignated period of time (meaning whenever I feel like it), whoever has gotten the most points will have an entry written all about them and why they're my favorite D*Lander of all time (of course, this is open to anyone, I'll just replace D*Lander with Internet Geek ::grins::) So....I'ma gonna start off with a super easy one this time:

"I tried to call you before
But I lost my nerve
I tried my imagination
But I was disturbed"

Answer in the comments please.



So, Lissa has been writing these cinquains lately. She started in school but she really enjoyed it so now she writes them all the time. I asked her today how to write one (because I wanted to write one for her to suprise her). After she explained it to me, I repeated it back to make sure I understood. And I said, "and the last line is basically a cinnamon for the first line?" Then I stopped and TRIED to say, "no, not cinnamon - synonym."

Unfortunately, I got terribly tongue tied and said "cimmanym" both times. And then I could NOT for the life of me pronounce either word correctly. Finally, after a great force of will, I ended up shouting "cinnamon, cinnamon, cinnamon!!"



I did write that cynquain for Lissa though. Wanna hear it? (Of course you do)

Lissa
Happy Funny
Giggling Playing Smiling
I love my girl
Princess



Finally, I took Clarity's quiz.

You are Lelaina from
You are Lelaina from "Reality Bites"
Take Which 90's movie character are you? today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.

You're in a transitional period right now in your
life. You're trying to figure out who you are and
where you're heading. It's scary, but at the same time you're able to enjoy life while you struggle.
You're down-to-earth and funny. People describe you as "Cool" and enjoy your company.
You'll figure out the meaning of life in time. Just take it all in stride, day by day.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo