Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Curse you Aqua Camel!!!
2005-02-18 ~ 9:59 p.m.

Now, I'm the sort of girl who like frou frou drinks, be they tropical concoctions of the alcoholic sort or fancy coffees that are more dessert than beverage (Trance's entry on her father's coffee habits has been bookmarked with my other recipe pages). Actually, I'm a bit of a foodie in general. I love to sample all sorts of flavor combinations. (Example: a few weeks ago I found these phyllo triangles with a pear and blue cheese filling. Very yummy)(Let me also say that I kinda hesistate to use the term foodie as that term is often translated to mean "food snob" - which I am not. See "What I ate" below)

So anyway, you can imagine that the following descriptives had me drooling:

"Winter Mocha Mint"
"Warm Winter Toffee"
"Kauai Kolada"
"Twista Lime"
"Beach Breezer"
"Bayou Blast"
"Mandalay Lime"
"Creamy Mellow Mint"
"Izmir Stinger"
"Mandarin Mint"

Mmmm.....I gotta try me some of those, I thought. The only problem? LOOK!!! Camel Exotic Blends!! They're F***ING cigarettes and I DON'T SMOKE, DAMNIT!!!

Although that didn't stop me from driving to three separate shops tonight looking for the damned things. No luck though. But I remain undaunted. I checked on their website and found listings for a few places around here where I can find them.

I'm rationalizing this decision to give these things a shot by telling myself it's no different than the cigar I share with my dad and brother once in a blue moon. Yes, nicotine is addictive, I know that, but I also know I have smoked before on a casual basis (back in my 20's - either cramming for finals or while out drinking) and never made a habit of it. And if I want to spend $3 on a pack of cigarettes even though I'm only going to smoke one - well, how is that different from spending $3 on a fancy coffee at Starbucks?



As further evidence for those who don't believe me when I state I am not a food snob, I present the recipe for one of my favorite appetizers ever:

Blue Cheese and Asparagus Canapes
4 ounces blue cheese
8 ounces cream cheese
1 egg
20 spears CANNED asparagus, drained
1/2 cup melted butter
WONDER bread

Trim crusts from bread and flatten with a rolling pin. Blend cheeses and egg to a workable consistency and spread evenly on each slice of bread.

Place an asparagus spear on each slice and roll up. Dip in melted butter to coat thoroughly. Place on cookie sheet and freeze.

When firmly frozen, slice into bite size pieces. (If freezing for a future date, place bite size pieces in a freezer bag - do not defrost to cook)
Place on cookie sheet and bake at 400 F for 20 min.



Today's 80's music trivia challenge:

So I stopped to find out what was going on.
(How does it feel when you've got no food ?)
'Cause the spirit of Jah, you know he leads you on
(How does it feel when you've got no food ?)

Remember, answer in comments please.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo