Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Ugh
2005-02-08 ~ 6:27 a.m.

Oh good Lord, how do all of you people who regularly get up early manage it?

I've agreed to take care of the kids two mornings a week so that Inez can sleep in. That means that I have to get up around 5:30 so that I can get to their house by 7am.

Of course, the other three days I don't have to be at work until noon, so I sleep until 9am.

So you know what this leads to, right? Being unable to fall asleep at night and tossing and turning until 2am (my normal bedtime when I don't have to be up early the next morning). And then, you know how you wake up briefly in the middle of the night and quickly fall back to sleep? Well, when you wake up at 4am and realize your alarm is going to go off in an hour, it makes it damned difficult to get back to sleep.

So yeah, I've been awake since 4-ish and actually out of bed and upright since 5-ish. This is inhuman, I tell ya. It's just not right.

In other totally unrelated news, I think I'm going to start taking swing dance lessons.

In more unrelated news, I'm going to a gala at our county library later this month. It's their big annual fundraiser. I expressed interest in it a few months ago when a Save the Date card came in the mail addressed to a former company director. Chel said he would see whether the company had comp tickets.

In fact, we did, but only one. I really don't want to go alone, though. There will be some people there I know from work, but no one I know well. But....it probably would be good career-wise to socialize with other "professionals", right? Joe M (the Director who got me the ticket) has encouraged me to go. He'll be there with his wife, and our PR director will be there with her fiance and they're both well connected outside of the company. Joe said he can get me tickets to other events, too. I guess it's probably time for me to just bite the bullet and get over this whole social wallflowerness thing.

(Hmmm.....I actually realized that those last two topics (swing dancing and gala-going) aren't really unrelated. They both involve me putting myself into social situations that I am unfamiliar with. But with the swing dancing, it's just something I decided over the weekend that I really wanted to learn how to do)

Anyway. I'm still hoping to find a "date" for this gala. I asked Ann a few months ago, but she decided it was too frou-frou-y for her. I asked T and she's going to get back to me. I'd ask Tina, but she's got a new baby, I don't know if she's ready for going out without him yet.

Yikes!! Where'd the time go? I still have to get dressed and comb out my hair and put my makeup on and I have to leave in fifteen minutes.

EEEEEE!!!!!!!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo