Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

2/365: My dad
2006-05-21 ~ 7:55 p.m.

Well duh, if Mom comes first then of course next up is the Dad-thing

The problem is, well, I've already written so much about him, what's left to say?

I take after my dad a lot. He's random and scatterbrained and goofy...and that all hides a fierce intellect. He's no dummy head, my daddy.

But he's silly as all get out. When we were kids he was CONSTANTLY singing his silly songs. "You talk too much you worry me to death, you talk to much you even worry my pet" - but he threw in the strangest sound effects.

(And let's not forget, "K-MAR is your saver store, where your dollar buys you MORP!!")

And of course, laundry patrol. Heaven help us as teenagers if we wanted to sleep in on a Saturday morning when Dad was trying to do laundry. Or gather the trash. ::POUND POUND POUND:: on the door! "I've come to collect your garbage!!"

::groan::

Dad loves to write too. Humorous sketches, primarily but also some sentimental retrospectives. Following 9-11 he wrote about the time when he was working in Manhattan and he saw the World Trade Center being built. This time span covered his days as a newlywed through his time as a new father.

He also told the tale of his courtship with my mother and how he knew, after the very first time he visited the home she lived in with her mother and brother, that he had to get her out of there. One way or another, she wasn't going to continue living like that.

Dad seems to be so many things on the surface - goofy, like I said, but sometimes gruff and a bit curmudgeonish even, but inside he's a total softie.

And of course, I know exactly how to wrap him around my little finger. Just like a Daddy's Little Girl, eh?

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo