Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

This is what I get for eating the ziti
2005-11-19 ~ 1:12 p.m.

So yesterday morning I got to work and decided I wanted sushi for lunch. And since I know Adam likes sushi (he practically fell out of his chair last time I ordered, trying to make sure I ordered some for him too) I asked whether he wanted any. And of course he did, but I told him I wouldn't be getting it until my scheduled lunch at 3pm.

At 1 o'clock, I decided I NEEDED a mint frappa-thingy. NEED! So Ann and I wander off to Oasis and I see baked ziti on the hot bar and ohhhh, did it look good. So, after just a bare moments thought, I scooped some up. And THEN it occured to me, "Oh no! I told Adam we would have sushi! How can I have ziti and sushi?" But I didn't put the ziti back because I had already scooped it out of the tray and it didn't seem right.

So I took it back to my desk and Adam pouted and I said, "Don't worry, I'll still get sushi, even if I have to save mine and eat it at dinner time." But he was all pouty as he tends to be. Often.

So I open my ziti and take a bite and it really is quite good so I take another bite and then I shake my mint frappa-thing because frappa-things always have to be shaken to get all the yummy goodness off the bottom of the bottle and the whole shaking thing is practically a reflex. And then I go to twist off the cap and that durned plastic wrap won't come off even though the cap is all the way untwisted and I try to tear through it but it's stubborn, yo, so I wrestle with it for a while and I finally take out a pair of scissors and cut the plastic wrap off and I'm all really to drink my frappa-thingy goodness but first I have to shake it.

Sigh.

The good news it, I didn't get any in my ziti. The bad news is, it went EVERYWHERE else. Including my brand new pair of jeans. It took an entire forest worth of paper towels to clean all the frappa-stuff off my desk and another forest to rinse it down to get rid of all the stickiness and then I had to retire to the ladies room to clean myself up and I was walking around the office for a good hour and a half with wet spots all over my jeans.

The good news is that I seemed to have emerged stain free.

Adam swears that this was my karmic retribution for the ziti. And he may be right, by the time I finished cleaning, the few bites of ziti I had already eaten had filled me up enough that I didn't want the rest.

Of course then, when I finally do call to order the sushi, I find out the restaurant doesn't open until 5pm on Fridays. The fuck? Anyway, sushi is finally obtained and it is good. And, as a direct result of ordering for another coworker of mine AND spotting him for it until Monday, he has agreed to cease all hostilities with me. This? Is very good.

So the story has a happy ending.

Later I met up with Debbie and Melissa (not my daughter Melissa, Debbie's friend Melissa who I've been hanging out with a lot and she is wicked cool AND fun AND really really nice too.) The original plan was that we would go to Nottingham's to see The Reagan Years but when I called Debbie (after leaving work) she said they were at Bennigan's. Because Debbie is dating the DJ there. Of course, before last week, I had no idea they had a DJ and dancing there. Huh. Learn something new everyday.

Anyway. I have to preface this next bit by saying that I do not have alcohol to use as an excuse for my behavior. I'm not sure whether that makes it better or worse.

See, Debbie and Melissa were doing the whole party lesbian thing, dancing up close and grinding on each other. And they were trying to get me to join in. And I demured, saying "I can't, I won't fit in, both of you are wearing black and I'm in brown." So Melissa told me to take my top off. Now, I knew I was wearing the tank top thing that I mentioned a few entries ago so I said, "You don't think I will, do you?" and she said, "I know you won't" so I started unbuttoning my top. Now keep in mind, we were at a table with Melissa's brother and a whole bunch of his friends. So, boys. WHAT was I thinking?

Anyway, I unbuttoned a few and said, "There, are you happy?" and she said "No, it's not off" so I just sighed and finished unbuttoning and as soon as I took off my top she snatched it away from me and gave it to someone at the table and said, "Don't let her have this back"

!!!!!!!!

(Now honestly, the whole reason I was okay with this is because I KNEW that tank top was practically miraculous. It makes me look like I have a small waist. And for some reason, my arms don't look as huge in it as they do in anything else I wear. That top really is a gift from God)

So Melissa and Debbie drag me back up front where Chris (the DJ) is and we dance and grind and really, what fun!

And shortly thereafter, Chandler comes in. Now I swear, I wasn't topless by design. I had texted him to tell him we were there but he hadn't texted back so I didn't think he was going to show up. But he did and I looked....oh hell, why be modest. I was hot. Okay, there I said it. (Actually, Melissa said it first. And he agreed. So that means I'm just repeating what others said. I'm not full of myself, really) So again, all's well that ends well. And well, there's a little more but that belongs in the pink one.



I do have at least two other entries that I need to be working on. Hopefully this weekend I'll have them up. Sorry for those who are waiting for them.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo