Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Moo-sick!!
2005-08-22 ~ 10:33 p.m.

So, yeah, I was tagged last week by Jacki and because I love her love her love her I've been sitting around thinking this one over.

Okay, no, that's not true. I mean I do love her love her love her, but I actually wrote this entry (sort of) last week when she tagged me but then accidentally deleted it and haven't really thought about it since then.

But I'm thinking of it now, durn it, so y'alls are going to read it.

Now.

Anyway, I'm supposed to list ten songs that I've heard or have been thinking about lately. (But I'm going to cheat and make it 11 because my memes go to 11)

1) Music (Madonna) - Because that's the song that my phonetically spelled short description is supposed to sound like

2) We Belong Together (Mariah Carey) - That song is fucking audio crack, yo. I hate Mariah Carey and I hate that sort of over the top melodramatic wailing ballad but I love that song. It's like, once it got into my bloodstream via my ears I was hooked. Crack, I'm telling you. Pure crack

3) Baby Got Back (Sir Mix-a-Lot) - This is Krumpet's fault. See, we went out Saturday night to see Paul Lewis. (I wrote about the last Paul Lewis show here) During a set break the club was playing some dance music and I was having a good old time. I do so love to dance and I do it so infrequently now. I don't think I've been out in about six months now. Anyway, I was really getting my groove on (or whatever you young hipsters are calling it) despite the fact that my pants kept falling down. Yes, they were. Stop laughing. Stupid goldarned low rise capris. I've only lost ten pounds but these fucking pants kept sliding down past my hip bones. I must've looked like a total spazz as I alternated shaking my groove thang and pulling up my pants.

Anyway, so Baby Got Back comes on and I'm just dancing away, happy as a clam, and Krumpet comes up and says "That's not how you dance to this song" and she gets all bootylicious on the dance floor while I'm all middle aged white girl boring as butter dancing and I say to her, "I can't help it, I can't dance" and we both stop dead and I say, "Go ahead, just slap me now. No, really I mean it" because yes I bloody well can dance. And that's not me being full of myself of NUTTIN'. I don't care if I've got fifteen years and 60 pounds on some of the skanky young things on the dance floor, and I always have been and always will be a damned good dancer. So there.

4) I Will Survive (Gloria Gaynor) - Because Adam was doing a victory dance whilst singing that song this evening as he was closing his fourth deal of the day

5) These Boots are Made for Walking (Jessica Simpson) - Damn, I love that song. I must say, I don't get the whole car washing in the bikini thing from the video, but I love the song. C'mon, any song with a "SOOOEEEE" has got to be a good song

6-8) It's a Wonderful Life (Fat Boy Slim), Headache (Frank Black) and Ball of Confusion (Love and Rockets) - So yeah, remember that alarm clock CD I was talking about last week? I set my alarm for 8am although I don't actually leave until 10:40. So I usually listen to the entire CD. And I've been wondering why the CD was so short. Because it only runs for an hour. And normally, when I burn a CD, I fill it up. And then this morning it occured to me that it runs for EXACTLY an hour. And it occured to me that the CD is playing because I set it as an alarm. And don't most alarms stop going off after a certain time if you don't shut them off manually? So I finally realized that the CD was shutting itself off after an hour and it was like discovering three bonus tracks!!

(Irrelevant side note: I always get Frank Black and Frank Castle (The Punisher) confused for some reason. Several years ago I was part of an online discussion group devoted to comic books and I said something about Frank Black and confused all the fanboys)

9) The Flu (U2) - Now let me explain. First, I am not the neatest person in the world. I do a lot of road chowing (well, not so much since I started to diet but the residue is still there in my car.) So yesterday, I was driving along, listening to my beloved XM Sattelite Radio and I hear the opening notes of a song that sounded familiar but not familiar enough that I knew it immediately. So I just looked at my XM digital display for the answer. (Anyone who listens to the 80's on 8 got that reference. Anyone???) And the artist read U2 and the song read The Flu. Well, I thought, that's why it sounded familiar, I've heard so much U2 over the years that I recognize their style, this must be something new, let's enjoyed.

And the song continued and I said to myself, hey you big dummyhead, this isn't a new song, what did that lovely XM digital display say again? And I look down and sure enough, buried under a layer of spilled soda I see the little tail that changed the u to y. Yep. The Fly. Not The Flu. There is no U2 song called The Flu.

10-11) Sugar, Sugar (The Archies?) and Sugar (Trick Daddy with Ludacris) - Because whenever I pass my cat in the hall I greet her "Hi Sugar" and then one of those songs will just pop in my head and not leave.

So, yep, that's it. I guess I'm probably supposed to tag someone but I never do. Do or not do, it is up to you, do do do do do do do do do, oh that's the way, uh-huh uh-huh, I like it, uh-huh uh-huh

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo