Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

$$$ and ???
2005-08-03 ~ 10:02 a.m.

So I just got a call from the kids' dentist office. Apparently, they have an unpaid bill of $180 and they won't see the kids until it's paid. Okay, fine, I understand that. But why are they calling ME? Why are they threatening MY credit? Yes, I cover the health insurance but Dave is responsible for the co-pays and deductibles and stuff. (Although in reality, we usually split them if they're sizable, like Lissa's ER visit a few months ago.

So I asked her: At what point did I assume responsibility for this debt? At what point did I come into your office and sign the paper (that doctor's offices always (in my experience) make you sign) acknowledging that I would be responsible for whatever the insurance company did not pay?

The answer of course is never. I've never been to that office, I don't even know where it's located.

She backed off after I pointed that out which is good, but I'm still going to look at my credit report and make sure there's nothing on there. Lord knows my credit isn't great, but it's been improving over the past several years and I don't want to see anything happen to make it start going down again.

In other news, I'm kinda playing hooky from work this morning. See Tina has been going to this school for the past several months to learn to be an esthetician and today is her first clinic....meaning she has to work on real people, not just other students.

She had several people lined up as guinea pigs but they all fell through for one reason or another. So she asked me to help out and I said okay so she's going to do the whole spa treatment thing on me. I could've gone into work this morning but I would have needed to leave after an hour and a half to get there on time so I decided to just bag the morning and go in for the afternoon. I'll probably stay a little later tonight to make up for it.

Oh, and I have to give myself major props. I had no idea how to spell esthetician so I guessed and then I went back and checked it and it was right! Yay me.

Wait? What's this you ask? What's an esthetician? dictionary.com to the rescue!

1. One versed in the theory of beauty and artistic expression.
2. One skilled in giving facials, manicures, pedicures, and other beauty treatments

Yeah, so she's been doing this school thing for several months and working part time in the evenings and taking care of her new baby and her husband AND trying to finish Harry Potter so she's exhausted so she gave notice on Monday and Friday will be her last day.

::weeps::

I hope this all works out for her. Me personally, I couldn't do it. I can't be that upclose and personal with complete strangers. Heck, I can't even be that upclose with hardly anyone. And Tina's going to have to do waxing too? Men and women? Including butt hair? I haven't had the courage yet to ask her whether they're learning anal bleaching. I hope for her sake that's still just an L.A. thing.

(Trust me, I asked Tina exactly what she was going to do before agreeing to be her first customer. Besides a back cleansing (????) it's all facial. I can handle that)

Okay, I'm done. I suppose I should go forage for breakfast. Day 13 on Weight Watchers and all is still well. I'll report in tomorrow with the results of my weigh-in because I know you're all waiting with bated breath.

(bated, meaning held back; diminished or moderated as opposed to baited, meaning you're hiding worms under your tongue)

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo