Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

So about that cat....
2005-06-04 ~ 4:37 p.m.

Yeah, so last Saturday night, I was rumaging around my sitting room (which did not yet have a lamp in it and it was pretty much dark outside, so it was darned dim) when I came face to face with a strange cat.

Who are you?, I asked it.

It meowed at me which I deemed an insufficient answer.

So I called my mom. "Mom, there's a cat here and it's not Stache (Greg's cat) and it's not the baby kitten he said he was getting."

Mom wisely suggested I call Greg for answers. Dunno why I didn't think of that.

So I called Greg. "Oh, yeah, I guess you discovered Sguise."

"Sguise? What kind of name is that?"

Turns out that this poor kitty had been passed down from owner to owner - no one seemed able to fulfill the committment they had made to her to love her and care for her. Her original owners had named her Sguise short for disguise because she looks like she's wearing a mask.

::pauses to look at cat::

::shrugs::

Whatever, I don't see it.

Anyway, about a month ago, Greg had made a drunken promise to his friend to take this cat from him and take care of it. But, Greg had also planned on adopting a kitty from the animal shelter, as did I, because I wanted my own cat.

I said, "Greg, we can't have four cats"

He told me he had decided against adopting another kitty. I thought for a moment and then asked whether Sguise could be MY cat (since Greg hadn't really spent any time with her, she wasn't attached to him or anything). He said sure, so now we have two cats, which is what I wanted from the beginning.

But I just HAD to change that name. I found myself calling her Sugar (because she is just the sweetest little kitty) but decided I couldn't name her JUST Sugar...that sounds like something someone would call a poodle. So I added Sky to Sugar so her new name wouldn't be totally unfamiliar to her.

So Sugar-Sky it is.

The strange thing is, she reminds me so much of Bob. She's another calico and she's small for her age (Greg thinks she's about two years old). I have the hardest time not addressing her as Bob sometimes.

Overall, the move in went incredibly smoothly. Of course, I've been bargain shopping my heart out all week because neither Greg nor I have much "stuff" - you know, silverware, kitchen utensils, that sort of thing. I've been haunting the dollar store lately.

Anyway, here are a few pics of my new space.

000_0771

000_0772

000_0770

Henceforth, my bedroom shall be referred to as "The Cell" because it is wee teeny tiny (8x8). But I decided I wanted to turn the master bedroom into a sitting room so that I could have friends over. See, Greg and I decided that the living room would be HIS space, since he has a lot more home theater stuff than I do - so I get two bedrooms and he only has one. That will change eventually because we are on a waiting list with this complex to get into a three level townhouse, and then Greg will take the basement for all his electonic doo-dads.

And as a matter of fact, tonight, this very night, I will be inaugurating my sitting room as Ann, Tina and Christine are coming over. I've got a pitcher full of Mojitos and another pitcher of Cosmos chilling in the fridge, I'm making bruschetta and we've going to watch Sex and the City DVDs. Yep, it's Girls Night In. Yay!

And next weekend, I'm going to have my kids over for the full weekend.

Speaking of the kids, go see new pics of them on my flickr.

Okay, 80's lyric time. We had a new player join the game yesterday. Yay Witchful!

Today's lyric:
The smile that used to greet me brightened someone else's day

Answer in comments, please. (One day, I'll figure out why I'm so neurotic about having all my answers in one place - until then, please just humor me)

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo