Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

So much to say
2005-05-30 ~ 1:35 p.m.

It's been a while since I've made a real update....partly because I'm a total slacker and partly because I idiotically deleted my last update before saving it. So...I'll try to be brief.

I went to visit Bobby last weekend. One thing I love about the drive is the sunset over the mountains. I tried taking pictures, but it was a bit tricky, given that I was speeding along at 70mph (that's another thing I love about the drive - higher speed limits). So, this is the best I could do.

(The other other thing I love about the drive down is uninterrupted time with my XM. Have I ever mentioned how much I love XM Radio?)

So anyway, once I got down there I proceeded to spend the rest of the weekend crying.

No, wait, let me explain!

See, first we went to see Star Wars. I began to tear up at the very beginning, just from the magnitude of it all. I mean, here I am in the theater, watching the movie that, in some way, I've been waiting for since that day in 1977 when my parents dragged my eight year old self off to the theater (I wanted to see some flick about a talking donkey named Gus, I think)

Anyway....I was pretty much okay until about half way through (spoilers ahead, highlight text to read) when Anakin stopped Mace Windu from offing Senator Palpatine. That was the moment when I believe Anakin committed himself to the dark side and I just hung my head and started SOBBING and I didn't really stop crying until after the movie was over.

See, to me (and please don't scoff at me), I see Anakin very much as a tragic hero of Shakespearian proportions. If I was a bit more of a scholar, I swear I would write a paper or something comparing and contrasting Anakin to Othello or someone like that.

On the way back from the movies, Bobby got a call over the police radio that he needed to respond to so he dropped me off home and sped on his way. By the time he got back, I was crying again, partly from being left alone but mostly because his being a cop scares the crap out of me. I just worry so much. (Ellie, Egg, any words of advice?)

The next day, I watched Days of Our Lives and Jack called Jennifer "Miss Horton" and anyone who watched Days years ago would understand why I started crying again.

Then that night, we watched The Notebook on DVD - tears again.

AND....throughout the weekend, I was reading The Kite Runner, so I would sporadically burst into tears. Finally, near the end of the book (spoilers again, highlight to read) when Amir found Sohrab's body in the tub I gasped, slammed the book shut and starting bawling my eyes out. Poor Bobby just looked at me, bewildered, and said, "What are you crying about this time?"

(Oh, and a sidenote for anyone who hasn't read The Kite Runner: Please, go read this book. It's wonderful. It's nothing I would have ever picked up on my own, but I'm glad I did.)

Ah, and here come more pictures. While I was in Pikeville, Bobby and I went to Fishtrap Lake, which is one of my favorite places there. I can't put my finger on why....it feels so quiet and peaceful there, although it isn't really quiet at all. Maybe serene is the right word. Anyway, here are pics.

Moving on to moving out: Yes, I have finally moved out of my moms house and it is wonderful having a place of my own. I would post pictures but this entry has already been picture intensive enough. More pictures in my next entry but I just have one more I have to share today:

000_0764

That is Sugar-Sky and her story will wait until my next entry.

And, since I promised to revive the 80's game:

Then a man called our exchange but didn't want to leave his name

(As always, answer in comments, please)

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo