Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Try the veal
2004-09-08 ~ 12:36 a.m.

So....I stopped by Joe's desk to find out - just out of curiosity - why our team meeting was cancelled. He gave me a reasonable explanation (everyone has just come back from a long weekend, we're gaining momentum and they don't want to halt that or increase our abandon rate, they hadn't finished compiling last week's numbers) and then he asked me to sit down and talk with him for a few minutes.

First, he wanted me to help him write a DRP SOP (ummm...Debt Resolution Program Standard Operating Proceedure) for Brad, who leads the Quality team. Then he kinda wanted to give me an overview of where the department was going, I guess....I think the whole thing was meant to segue to one thing...."So, how do you feel about going back on the phones?"

::thud::

Well....first I reminded him that I was probably moving to Kentucky in a few months, then I hedged a bit, bcs I want to make sure I get a severance package....I'm not 100% sure of my logic, but I know it made sense at the time....so I said I MIGHT be staying, that if Bobby's job with Martin City doesn't come through I was pretty certain I could get him a job (or at least an interview) with the city of Laurel here in Maryland.

I guess I just want to keep my options open, cus in truth....well, that's the truth. Bobby said that if Martin City falls through, I could send his resume out to some departments here....but if he moves here and then I lose MY job, then we're in trouble.

So anyway, then I went to talk to Chel and told him what Joe had said to me....he said that as long as the company stayed afloat, Rob, Eric and I were safe in our jobs. DRP could go down the tubes, but the three of us are seen as very valuable to the company. They would let go of people downstairs before letting us go. And he said that we can expect to be recruited very heavily for the phones, bcs we're "sharp" and proven performers.

So, in one way I feel a little better, and in another, a bit confused. I guess I'll know better which direction to take (if the option of a package or a phone job is offered to me) once I find out from Bobby what the scoop in with Martin City.

Later, I went to visit with the kids, cus I hadn't seen them in over a week. Ben and Lissa pretty much latched onto their Gameboys as soon as I gave them to them. Susanna was asleep on the sofa and totally adorable....until she woke up, then she was totally cranky.

But the kids and I discussed their Halloween costumes. Susanna is going to be a butterfly, Lissa is going to be a kitty....and Ben is going to be a Power Ranger.

When I told David, he said the Power Rangers were "totally gay"...then I said, "hey, it could be worse....I initially misheard Ben and thought he said he wanted to be a ballerina." Dave said that might actually be better than a Power Ranger.

THEN, later, we were talking about the upcoming election. I told him that, overall, I supported Bush, but there were certain issues that I just did not agree with him on and did not feel comfortable voting for him because of that. Then, he made one of those comments that reminded me (not that I needed reminding) why I left him in the first place, "it's people like you who shouldn't vote anyway."

::sigh::

Okay, wow, this has gotten awfully lengthy.

I just wanted to give a couple of quick shout-outs though....

Jacki, sweetie, I love you too. You are SUCH a treasure...and I promise to never ask you to dress up in a banana costume.

And Tricia....I don't know you very well, but seriously, apart from Bobby (my fiance and love of my life) nothing I have seen and no one I have met on the internet in the past 10+ years has impacted me as profoundly as your Blessings do. You've really caused me to stop and look at my life and look at what is good in it, and, as much as possible, excise negative energy from my life....so thank you, Tricia ::hugs::

Okay, that's it ladies and gentlemen, I'm outta here for the evening, please sign the guestbook (if you haven't already), leave comments, let me know you're out there, and don't forget to tip your waiter or waitress.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo