Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Tidying up
2005-02-03 ~ 8:13 p.m.

Okay, today I am going to try to address any questions or comments that have cropped up in the past few days. First, I want to say to Melody that I fully intend on doing the survey you challenged me with, but I�m going to �tweak� it a little bit first, since I�ve already done it in it�s original form.

I also want to say that I am actually using Word to compose this document. This is not normal for me, as I stated in my last entry, but I know I�m going to be html-ing all over the place, and I don�t want to get confused. Besides, it�s winter and I don�t want to have all those Windows open.

::laughs heartily at my own joke, notices conspicuous LACK of laughter from those around, falls awkwardly silent::

....

Okay, where was I?

Okay, point number one. This is directed to Chibi who wondered what jelly shoes are. Well, I can�t say that this is what EVERYONE thinks of when they think of jelly shoes, but this is what I think of when I think of jelly shoes.

Speaking from my experience only, I can say that they are worn on the beach to keep your feet from getting owies from rocks and pebbles and broken glass and hypodermic needles. (Okay, wait, I have to pause. I JUST THIS SECOND realized that the word �hypodermic� includes the root �-derm� meaning skin, of course. Neat. I love discovered buried word roots like that.)

Alrighty then, on to point number two. My dear friend Wayne asked me to take a photo of my lunch. So I did. So here it is, take a look at it:

I realize that for some reason, it doesn�t look very good in the picture. I mean, what IS that goo all over it? But it�s quite tasty. I�ve been having the same salad type thing every work day for the past month, and I�ve lost 10 pounds so far. (Some days with chicken or shrimp instead of steak, though) (Ooh, that reminds me, I have to update that weight loss ticker thing down there)

And speaking of down-there, oomm asked what flickr was. flickr is some kind of photo storage site. I swiped it from Dawn. I like the way it allows me to display random photos on my diary. There are upload limits though, and I have reached mine for the month. I MIGHT decide to get a Pro account which would not have any limits, but I have to decide whether it�s worth it. And also, Oomm, I don�t believe banner ads are transferable, but thanks for the offer, I appreciate it.

Point number...um...point four. Bub asked about those illegal alien footwarmers. Okay, here�s the deal. I heard this from Jennifer, who worked for a landscaping company I used to do payroll for. (She did not know at the time she had hired illegal immigrants until I discovered she had more than one employee using the same social security number and she decided to do an audit before INS could�she discovered a lot of employees were using fake papers.) She told me that these workers (both illegals and legals) would spend their summers doing landscaping, living 8-12 in an apartment, saving up all their money so they could return home for the winter months. But some of these fellas would find they had no home to return to (�that woman, she done me wrong�), so they would earn money during the winter months too by keeping people�s toes warm. They�re hard to find though cus there really isn�t much of a market for such a thing.

Point five (no wait, five is right out)(oh the hell with it, on with the show): Oomm and Elizabeth both asked about my most recent read, The Sex Lives of Cannibals. I did finish it, it was very good, see my books page for my mini review.

Point six: How many Jolly Ranchers fit in my butt? Well, I decided to find out, but forgot to count them going in�.okay, no, stop, this joke is just too tasteless, even for me. Let�s try again...Um� Nope, sorry, I�ve got nothing.

Wait!! I do have an anecdote, and it kinda goes along with my boardroom bingo discussion from yesterday. A few years ago, when Ann and I were working in Tax, we decided to liven up our team meetings by instituting a �Word of the Day� (totally unbeknownst to our supervisors, of course). One person would get to choose the word (although it wouldn�t be announced until five minutes before the meeting) and everyone else would put a dollar into the pot. (the word chooser couldn�t actually participate). Right before the meeting, the word would be announced � always a non-business related word � and the first person to SEAMLESSLY work it into the team discussion won the pot. Once, the word was �worm dirt� (our fellow co-workers term for the chewing tobacco who favored) and on one memorable occasion, the word was �buttload�. Ann won that one, although she turned beet red in the process.

Moving on.

I promised Elizabeth a picture of Tarkan, a Turkish singer, who I think bears a striking resemblance to her Spanish boyfriend. I would tell Elizabeth he could be her Turkish boyfriend, but I believe my friend T has already claimed him. But here�s the pic:

And that, my friends, is all for tonight.

::vicki crosses fingers and hopes all the links work::

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo