Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

No more slacking
2005-04-12 ~ 11:26 p.m.

I'm sorry I've been so bad about updates lately. I'll try to do better. Let's see if I can catch y'all up on what's been going on since I last wrote.

Oh wait, but first, I want to thank everyone for thier kind words after my last post. I think a large part of what got to me that night is I started reflecting on all these memories which SHOULD have been warm ones for me, and I realized that never once did I feel that that man loved us. Sure, he went through the motions, but that's all it was. I never felt loved by him and that's what got me.

He's still lingering around, too. He'll be gone shortly and for that, I am thankful. Not out of any nastiness, but just because he has been such a ogre to my grandmother - I know she'll mourn but I believe (as does my mother) that her quality of life will improve GREATLY once he's gone. (It's not like she'll be alone and destitute - her sister lives five minutes away and they're close and she dotes on Aunt Judy's grandkids as if they were her own...and she and Grandpa were smart with their money so she's not relying on SSI...and her cancer is in remission and her health is pretty decent now....she could easily have another 10-15 happy years left and that makes ME happy. I haven't seen the grandmother I remember from when I was a kid in a long long time)

Okay, so yeah, about that list:

1) I didn't get the project management job. Oh well. Life goes on. I was a long shot for it anyway. The problem is, though, that it looks like my overtime is about to dry up, and that has me worried. I'm seriously considering looking for another job, just because I need more money. I've been doing great for years but that's because I live with my parent and don't have much in the way of expenses. Now that I'm moving out....well, I need more. So I either need stable overtime, a pay increase, a second job, or a new (higher paying) job. But at least I have my resume ready now.

2) I visited with Bobby over the past weekend. We saw lots of movies and ate lots of food. Yep. So, here's the movie round up (since I doubt anyone really cares what we ate)

Sin City - LOVED it. Uber-violent, but it was a very stylized violence, it didn't bother me at all. It was just a beautifully made flick. I loved the feel of it. And I felt the performances were brilliant. Except for Bruce Willis, I recognized none of the actors. To me, that's always the sign of a good performance, when you don't notice the actor, only the character.

Elektra - Put me to sleep. Literally. Phooey. I wanted to like this movie; I like the comic book character but the movie was just deadly dull

The Day After Tomorrow - Visually stunning. I've been doing a lot of thinking about landmarks lately for some reason. (Actually, I know why - somehow, despite the fact that I've driven to Pikeville probably 20 times by now, I made a wrong turn on my drive down Thursday night and somehow ended up in front of the capitol building in Charleston, West Virginia. And it made me think of the feeling of awe that comes over me whenever I get into DC (which isn't all that often) and I see the Capitol building or the White House or the Washington Monument (I can't wait to get Bobby to DC so I can see him seeing these landmarks for the first time). And it occured to me that if you took that level of awe and multiplied it by 1000, that might equal the feeling I would expect to get upon seeing the pyramids in Egypt (not that I have any plans to visit Egypt, but just imagine the magnificence a sight like that must have). But I digress.

So yeah, Day After Tomorrow, visually stunning, gripping story, and it made me wonder, "Can that actually happen?"

Shawn of the Dead - Hee hee hee hee. I love a funny movie. I especially love a funny scary movie. Not as great as Evil Dead 2, but still, very giggle-rific.

Fraggle Rock: Dance your Cares Away - Um...yeah, never mind about that one.

Hmmm....that's not much of a list, but really, not much else is going on. Yes, I lead a very boring life, but you know what? I like it that way. The joy of my life is in the small details, the details that are probably boring to anyone outside my life.

Details like Susie jumping up in down in front of the bathroom mirror, watching her pigtails fly.

Or finding a new pair of froggie earrings.

Or having dinner with an old, very missed friend.

Or lunch with another, not so old, not so missed, but still, very dear friend.

Or Bobby singing the "nose picking" song: "I'm diggin' up bones..."

Or driving down the road, playing air drums to American Pie

Or being able to talk to my mom without Auntie De interrupting

Or having Dave tell me he forgives me for what I did to him

Okay, some of those aren't small. They're HUGE in fact, but...I dunno...

The fact is...I'm HAPPY, dadgummit. I can't say life is perfect - it's never perfect. But it's darned good. And happy, as some great writer once said, is boring.

So yeah....call me boring....I'm happy with that.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo