Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

A conversation with Dad
2004-09-14 ~ 10:33 p.m.

So....I come home from the gym, starving, and ready to make dinner....basically a repeat of last night, hotdogs loaded with ketchup, relish and sauerkraut, and baked beans.

I love in the fridge and then call to Mom - "Mom, where's my sauerkraut?"

"Um....I think your dad ate it?"

"Ate it? You mean as a meal? Why, why, why would he do that?"

So I call him.

"Dad, where's the sauerkraut?"

"Um....I ate it for lunch."

"All by itself?"

"Yes"

I held the phone away from my ear (so as not to deafen poor Daddy) and shouted, "HOW CAN YOU BE SO WEIRD?!?!?!"

He said, "I'm sorry, I didn't know you were saving it."

"Well why else would I have put it in the fridge. If I wasn't saving it I would have thrown it out."

"Well, sometimes people save things because they feel guilty about throwing them out."

"IT WAS A FIFTY CENT CAN OF PICKLED CABBAGE!!!"

"Really, I thought it was just regular sauerkraut?"

"Dad, sauerkraut IS cabbage"

"Oh...well, you can take something of mine." (This is quite a concession, bcs Dad is normally very protective of his foodstuffs...unfortunately, it wasn't quite enough)

"What am I going to do", I scoffed, "put your cajun cheese dip on my hotdogs?"

I paused, then added, "I'm SO not paying you back for the stamps I took this morning"

"How many stamps did you take?"

"Three."

"But Vicki, that's a dollars worth,and it was only a fifty cent can of sauerkraut"

"FINE!!! I'll buy you a can of sauerkraut to make up for the other fifty cents!!!!"

I love my dad....he's a source of neverending amusement.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo