Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Props and quirks and hats, oh my!
2005-01-28 ~ 2:57 p.m.

I've got lots of stuff rambling about, so expect a good deal of line usage today.



Like that


First, I want to give props to three dlanders.

I stole my weight loss counter down there from vegasmommy. It's static, which is a bit of a pain, but really, no biggie, I'll just configure a new one each week. It's probably not a good idea to freakishly obsess over my weight from day to day anyway.

And I was totally blown away by the generosity of anisettekiss. She read (in my last entry) that I needed to replace my copy of Blood Sugar Sex Magic and she offered to send me her extra copy. What makes this even more amazing is that until today (when I commented on her diary) she never even knew I existed. Wowie zowie!! Yay for making new friends!! And yay for the Diaryland community as a whole!!

And speaking of that, I want to give a shout out of a different sort to Jackie. I don't think there's any feeling in the world worse than a mother's fear for her child's health. I went through it with Ben when he was born, but Jackie's got it a lot worse. Stay strong, sweetie, hard as it is to do - I know you can do it.



I took Susie to speech this morning. First we walked Ben and Lissa to their classrooms and then, as we were walking through the halls back to the front office, Susie decided it would be funny to pull her hat down over her eyes. I giggled with her for a moment, and then told her she needed to pull her hat back up so she could walk down the stairs. Well, like any stubborn four year old, she refused and started down the stairs anyway. I asked again and again she said no. So I plucked the hat off her head.

She came to a dead stop and refused to walk another step. So I shrugged and scooped her up and carried her down the stairs myself. (Heh, that's what's great about four year olds - they're still portable. Lord knows I couldn't do that with Lissa). She shrieked and cried and said, "I HATE you, Mommy." Again, I shrugged. "That's fine", I told her, "now let's go see Mrs Hart."

Cracks me up when she does that. She sounds so sullen and petulant and I guess she expects me to drop to my knees and beg her forgiveness.



I haven't been reading much lately, but it's not due to lack of interest, not really. It's more due to the presence of OTHER interests. First, I've gotten hooked on this here Diaryland place. I used to sit in the lunchroom and read on my lunchbreak. (And no, I'm not the sad lonely lady who has to eat alone cus she has no friends - I LIKE to eat alone. I don't like having to worry about my table manners and my small talk skills when I'm trying to eat. Yes, I CAN be very antisocial at times. And yet, for some reason, people still like me. Huh.) But now that we've been so busy at work, I have to get my dland fix during my lunchbreak - which gives me NO time for book reading.

AND, thanks to Ben, I've gotten rehooked on Gauntlet, so there goes all my free reading time at home. About the only time I still read nowadays is when I take my bath.



I noticed today that I have a few odd quirks relating to how I greet people. Instead of a casual "what's up", I often greet people with "what is up". Shirin told me I was a dork for doing this.

The other thing I do - and this is only with people I know and have worked with for years - is I greet them by first and last name. No, "Hey, John", for me....no, I smile and nod when I pass someone and say "John Doe", as if I am identifying them. (Kinda reminds me of Sandra Bullock's character in Demolition Man)

Very odd.

So what kinds of odd quirks does everyone else have?

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo