Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Kill me now
2005-02-05 ~ 7:33 p.m.

So it's basically been a sluggish Saturday for me. I've done nothing but surf on the internet, play videogames, read my book and watch my Friends DVDs. I DID clean the bathroom, but don't even get me started on that subject.

Oh heck, might as well vent a little, right? (warning: poop and vomit talk ahead)

So, the bathroom. As some of you might recall, I'm a little bit at war with Auntie De over cleaning the bathroom. She cleaned the bathroom about a week after I lipsticked the toilet. So that would be a few days before Christmas that she cleaned it. Then, over Christmas, she and Mom both became quite ill with some sort of stomach thing. So, as you can imagine, the toilet was quite...um...spattered. And it was my turn to clean it, so I did, on January 5th. Of course, first I had to get a lecture on how I need to make sure do a "thorough" job and that when they say "clean the bathroom" they mean "clean the WHOLE bathroom".

Um? I'm 36 years old, I THINK I know what I'm doing.

Whatever. I clean it and the very next day, one of the cats throws up on the threshold. De wipes up the wet stuff, but the crusty residue remains. The following week (January 12), she cleans the bathroom. Sort of. The vomit residue is still there.

That weekend, Mom reminds me that it's my turn and again, I get the lecture on thoroughness. I bite my tongue but then I send her an email pointing out that De isn't exactly perfect and I'm tired of being treated like a child. I also brought up the fact that De refuses to clean out the bathroom sink because I am the one who leaves hair in the sink and saline solution residue on the counter. True, but I clean that up every other day and I don't have a problem with that. But if I refuse to sweep (because I REALLY hate sweeping) on the grounds that it's HER cats that track litter all over the floor, I get told that I walk on the floor too. Well, damnit, she uses the sink too and I don't ask her to clean it.

::deep breath::

So anyway, Mom never said anything about the email but I felt better about getting this off my chest. And that Tuesday (January 18) I cleaned the bathroom again, and again I left a few little spots...you know, to "trap" her. (God, I'm a brat.)

De has not cleaned the bathroom since. I am 100% sure of this. And yet Thursday, I was told it was my turn again. I said nothing until I got my mother alone and then told her that it hadn't been cleaned since the last time I did it. She told me De had done it last week and I flat out told her no she hadn't.

I told Mom I'd do it, but I wanted her to know what was going on and it really bugged the hell out of me.

Part of me wants to open Mom's eyes to how De is manipulating her and trying to alienate her from the rest of the family. But the other part of me realizes that 1) De is Mom's best friend 2) Mom was incredibly stressed and unhappy before De moved in here 3) Her health isn't the best 4) Also, before De moved in, Mom was alone most nights 5) De makes her happy.

My mom doesn't need more stress, so I mostly keep quiet. But I really REALLY need to get out of here. The plan is for me to move out at the beginning of June. As long as no other catastrophes come up, I should be able to afford a decent little studio by then.

::end rant::

So like I was saying before I distracted myself, I've been at loose ends today. I need to go to the grocery store though, so I did a freezer check to see what kind of meat I have in stock. I discovered a salmon steak so I decided to make a salmon chowder for dinner tonight. I took the salmon and submerged it in a bowl of water to defrost but it rose to the top. I put a weight on it but it wasn't heavy enough. So finally, I slapped the sugar bowl on top of it and chortled, "Ha HA!!! Rise NOW, sucker!!" and continued chortling madly.

De, who was in the kitchen with me, said "Ah, you remind me of myself"

::silently screams::

Please God, do not EVER let me turn into that crazy cackling woman.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo