Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

I'm a math 'tard
2005-01-12 ~ 3:22 p.m.

I�ve got all sorts of bits and pieces rattling around my brain, so this is going to be an awfully disjointed entry. I wish I had one of those little bars (like cats-corner, to name one example) to kinda delineate when I�m changing subjects but I just don�t have time to go look for one right now.

This conversion is kicking my a**, work-wise. (Without going into details, we are changing our business structure so that we are acting under the auspices of a law firm.) Between converting our existing customers, grandfathering some customers, getting new docs for pending customers, and inconsistent messages coming from management, I�m ready to tear my hair out. Plus, my boss volunteered the daughter of the uber-boss (ie: the owner of the company) to do some of my filing, which is great � or at least it was until I realized that I had some prep work I needed to do first.

But hey, now it�s lunch time and lunch time = me time.

I do want to point out that I made an inadvertent, but actually very amusing typo in my last entry. I won�t identify it, but it cracked my a** up when I realized it.

I must give thanks to weetabix for her entry alerting me to the existence of this. Ann and I have decided that this will be our reward for hitting the halfway point in our diets. BUT � we have to do it together, which means she can�t go until I hit my halfway and vice versa. I think this is a great motivator because this way, I know if I cheat on my diet, I�m depriving HER of chocolate-y goodness and vice versa. And we should hit our halfway points at roughly the same time. I have more weight to lose but she�s an old hag�er, I mean, she loses weight slower than I do.

I had a really nice visit with the kids last night. I was able to spend one on one time with each of them. I got there while Ben and Lissa were at wrestling, so I played with Susie and we did flash cards and I helped her put new earrings in and then was able to give her her bedtime story and songs and tuck her in. Then when Ben and Lissa got home, Lissa had to take a bath so I played Legos with Ben and then video games. After Lissa�s bath, Dave put Ben to bed so I was able to spend time with Lissa. Now, all I did was help her with her math homework and then play a game of Pokemon, but y�know, that�s about all I�m usually up for anyway.

Funny thing about her math homework, btw. It intimidated me. She�s in fourth grade and she�s doing long division and I looked at this sheet of problems and said, �How the hell does one divide 77 into 987 without a calculator?� And how am I supposed to help her?

I told her, �Lissa, you�re on your own here.� But as it turns out, I remembered more than I thought I did. I took a piece of paper and worked the problems out on my own while she did them on her worksheet. The one time we got different answers, it was me who was wrong. And at one point, I had to ask her, �Lissa, what�s six times seven?� I honestly drew a blank.

I discovered if I get a caffe latte out of the coffee machine (made with artificial sweetener) and then add three more packets of Equal, there is only one possible reaction. A loud call of �SWEEEEEEETTT!!!�

(kinda like a smoothie Liz got once at Gampy�s � everyone who tasted it had the same involuntary reaction: �MMmmm�.banana�

Hmmmm�.there were other things I wanted to write about but I can�t remember any of them now. I�ve been meaning to update last night and I�ve just been sticking (figurative) Post-It Notes in my head to remind me of all the different thoughts that have passed through it�.but I guess the stickys came unstuck.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo