Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Quick! Call the FB1!
2005-02-22 ~ 8:01p.m.

For years, I've yearned for the early days of Napster, when file sharing was free and easy. Nowadays, it's still free (if you don't get hung up in all the ethical issues that is) but it's not as easy as it once was.

At least, that's what I thought until last night when finally, for the first time in six years, I was able to download music off the internet again.

Now granted, it took me a few tries to get the software (Limew*re) installed properly (I think the first d/l was interrupted and the second time I tried to overwrite the first, corrupted d/l) and it's a bit slower than I remember Napster being (but that's because I need a new network card), but ah goodness, it was so easy to get started.



Not that anyone asked, but for posterity, here are my very first downloads:

Front 242 - Headhunter
Nitzer Ebb - Join in the Chant
Wham! - Wham Rap
Frank Zappa (and Moon Unit! Don't forget Moon Unit!) - Valley Girl
The Afternoon Delights - General Hospi-tale
The Timelords - Doctorin' the Tardis


So what else is up in Vicki-Land? Well, I've been running a buttload of banners. Maybe I'll add a banners page soon. Big stuff is afoot at work, but I can't write about it right now....but cross your fingers for me, I think something good is about to happen. I haven't forgotten about the cat round up entry I talked about writing, I just need to locate a few more pictures. Lissa's eczema is finally clearing up. For the first time since she was a newborn her arms are clear of red scaly patches. Ben is calming down, he's not anywhere near as hyper as he was last Fall. Nothing new to report on the Susie front (although look for new photos in my flickr box after March 1st - that's when I can upload more). I found a date for the library gala - my brother. Basically, things are good.


Today's 80's lyric, heard on the radio last night:

If you've got a crush
Don't be an octopus

Remember, answer in comments please


Oomm has corrected me.

I am so beyond embarassed. Normally I check lyrics but I was in a hurry and didn't bother. All these years I've wondered "why an octopus"?
Thanks, Oomm, I'll add you to the scoreboard....and then I'm going to go bury my head in the sand.
And Matt Perry is in rehab again. Damnit.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo