Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Incredible Unfortunate Avengers
2004-11-28 ~ 12:33 a.m.

I took the kids to see The Incredibles tonight. I'd already seen it, but it was the first time for them. They loved it, and most importantly, Ben behaved himself. None of his hyperactive looniness (although I did catch him licking his face on several occasions).

I think the boy is learning to control his diet on his own. He knows that too much sugar makes him crazy. He also knows that I promised them a special treat if they behaved themselves after the movie.

I gave each child five small pieces of candy and at the end of the movie, I was shocked to find that Ben, my candy monster, had only eaten three of them. I'm convinced he did this because he wanted to make sure that he behaved himself and he knows he has no control of himself when he eats sweets. (Hmmm....kinda like Hulk when he gets mad.)

So, as promised, I took them to McDonalds for ice cream (since Friendly's is now closed) and even there, he only ate half his sundae. I really do believe he's learning to control his sugar intake.

Or he could be getting sick.

We saw the preview for Lemony Snickett's A Series of Unfortunate Events, a movie I am very much looking forward to. From what little I saw, I think the movie will be good - but not true to the books. It seems as if Jim Carrey is playing Count Olaf WAY too broadly. There is humor in the character, as written, but it's a more subtle humor, I believe. Either way, I'm sure I'll enjoy it. I don't think I've seen a bad Carrey movie, and I THINK I've seen them all (except for The Grinch....never got around to that one)

The Star Wars: Episode 3 preview gave me major goosebumbs though.

I've temporarily given up on the book I've been reading, Pilgrim, by Timothy Findley. It's interesting, but slow and plodding nonetheless and I just don't have the patience right now. I find myself wanting to indulge in a deluge of chick lit. I have two books out from the library right now - Remember Me, by Christopher Pike (YA) and Murder Suicide by Keith Ablow. Once I finish those, I'm going to get me a heap o' chick lit.

(Have I mentioned that I totally ADORE my library? They have the best website, and I can ILL anything in the state via the site)

For now, though, I've decided to catch up on my comic books. I fell behind over a year ago when Bobby and I split temporarily - I just didn't have the heart to read them....we got back together four months later but I just haven't been able to catch up.

So tonight, I read the Avengers Disassembled story arc. Now, I totally love Brian Michael Bendis but man, oh man, did this story suck. I mean, big time, intense suckage. It seemed as if he just kept throwing out one thing after another. And the art seemed inconsistent too. (I don't mean the very last few pages, I'm talking throughout the books.) It seemed almost as if they switched artists mid-book (kinda like they did with the Daredevil 40th anniversary book.)

Alright, that's it for me....I'm off to watch a few episodes of Friends (I'm up to Season 3, Disc 4) and then hit the sack. 'night all.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo