Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Reflections on (and from) a boring life
2004-10-10 ~ 9:11 p.m.

My life is boring.

But you know what? That's a good thing. It's also a fairly new thing - I'm so used to immersing myself in drama; I've always suspected that subconsciously, I was doing it deliberately. I remember back when I was in maybe 9th or 10th grade, I was lying on the sofa, watching music videos, bored out of my skull, and half asleep, and I heard a little voice whipser in my head "you have to make your own excitement".

And I think maybe I took those words a little bit too much too heart over the years - it's made for quite a life story, but quite a lot of headache and heartache too. I seem to have skipped through my days going from one drama to another but I'm tired of entertaining people with the story of my life.

Right now, there's drama swirling all around me, but for once in my life, I'm not part of it, and I like it that way.

Of course, the largest and most important crisis is what's going on with Dave and Inez and John. What an unbelievable mess that is. Inez and John flew out to Texas Friday night; Inez came back on Saturday, totally wiped out. She said she didn't sleep at all Friday night bcs she was too worried about what her mother was going to do. They've got this good ol' boy Texas judge presiding over the case (and I've heard Texas is full of wackos...er...sorry, Zenda) who is totally biased towards Inez's mother....and Inez's lawyer doesn't want to protest bcs he doesn't want the judge to develop a bias against HIM too.

Dave's contacting the ACLU but I don't know whether that will do any good. Plus there's the fact that Inez doesn't want the details of her situation (ha!) making headlines - apparently she has her fair share of skeletons, which is part of the reason she doesn't want to move back to Texas.

So I feel bad, AWFUL for them....but I'm counting my blessings for myself. Inez and her mother have this horrible relationship, but my mother and I are still close (although she bugs the hell out of me sometimes) and, despite my therapist's dire predictions, Melissa doesn't hate me.

Work is another big crisis zone, one right after another....seems there's something new every week. It's October, which means layoffs.

::sighs::

But again (and I could be wrong) I don't feel affected. I would not be at all surprised to see Chel gone very soon, which would suck big time....and I can also forsee my position being eliminated....but I don't see myself out of a job. I'll end up on the phones again (ugh!) but at least I'll still be employed.

Of course, I'm hoping I'm wrong, and I probably am - this is probably just me trying to buy trouble for myself again. When am I going to realize that trouble comes for free?

There are other issues involved at work too, things that I really can't write about here, except to say that a certain person is driving me UP A WALL!

Then there's the tertiary (ha again!) drama from last weeks DT snipe-fest. That seems to be over - for now, at least. It's amazing how petulant and child like full grown adults can be when they're hiding behind the anomynity of the internet. And somehow, it's become MY job to try to talk common sense into them. Me? Common sense? In the same sentence? I'm the girl who once dyed her hair pumpkin in an ill-advised attempt to go blonde. (I believe my reasoning was, "my son looks good as a blond, why not me?")

Sooo....what HAVE I done this weekend? Well, I shocked the lady at Claires when I asked her whether they did tongue piercings. (I don't think it was the inquiry itself that shocked her, just the fact that this pre-middle aged woman with three young kids was talking about getting her tongue pierced....and I'm gonna do it too, dadgummit)

Hmmm...what else?

::scrunches up, making a "trying to remember face"::

Nope, that was it....my trip to Claires was the highlight of my weekend. See, boring? Told ya so. So WHY are you still reading this??? Huh, huh??

(shout out to Jacki - come back to dland, sweetie, I HATE Xanga...we can bring Lando over here too)

(to Tricia - the setting a man on fire thing was a joke....if you set a man on fire, he'll be warm the rest of his life cus he'll be on fire the rest of his life...until he expires from BEING on fire....I'm not actually advocating burning people up, really)

Okay, I'm done....back to Bev Vincent's book....very enlightening, all Tower scholars should check it out.

(Oh wait, another highlight of my weekend - my brother trying to imply that he knew more about the Dark Tower books than I did. Ha, ha ha, ha ha ha ha)

See this is how you can tell that I am TRULY bored this evening...It wouldn't be so bad if Bobby wasn't working tonight, his arguments in favor of getting a tarantula (as fruitless as they may be) were really amusing me........I've been stalling clicking "done" for the past ten minutesas long as I'm still updating, I can continue to amuse myself since SOMEONE has to do it...

Speaking of amusing myself ::giggles::...

Anyone familiar with the song "Particle Man"? Here, read this

I rejoined the Shack....I guess that means I should start writing again...or something.

Okay, really, I'm done this time.

For real.

I hate Sundays.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo