Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Talk amongst yourselves
2005-02-02 ~ 7:16 p.m.

I have a headache. I am miserable. And yet, I feel complelled to type into this tiny box. And yes, I do type directly into the box. Whee!! Lookit me!! I'm fearless, no spell-check for THIS super-confident chica!!

So anyway, yeah, headacheness rules so I'm just going to babble on for a bit about whatever enters my mind. Eventually, I'll stop babbling. Then, if I'm lucky, I'll quickly lapse into unconsciousness (well, after driving home from work, I hope)

Tomorrow's entry will be thrilling though, I promise. The earth will move. (Now, having said that, I am going to feel AWFUL if there is some sort of disastrous earthquake tomorrow. Heck, I'm a mom - it's my job to feel guilty)

Drama is afoot here at work. People are pissing and moaning and I'm sick of it. And both major issues I dealt with today concerned that wonderful corporate concept of "ownership"

The first issue involved a rep who refused to take ownership for the customers she spoke with. "That's not my client," she whined. Repeatedly. (My argument? You take the call, listen to the customer's problem, and propose a solution, you damn well better take responsibility for the follow up. I don't give a flying fig who the assigned coach is)

The second involved a rep who was too zealously taking ownership. On repeated occasions, this individual has seized credit for an account that was initiated by another coach. And right now, when people are being fired for not hitting their numbers, that s*** just ain't right. But that's fine. I reviewed the plan and gave him an a**load of follow up to do. (Not that the follow up didn't need to be done anyway, but I took real pleasure in saying, "Okay, you want the account, you need to do this, this, this and this" Yes, sometimes I can be a little bitch.)

Here's a few words to play Boardroom Bingo with:

Ownership
Challenge (we don't have problems, we have challenges)
Communication (as opposed to a memo or an email, I send a communication)
Best practice(s)
Revisit ("let's procrastate!")
Out of the loop ("Don't get me involved")
Proactive (this is a good one for a**-kissing)
Knowledge base
Mind set

These are the ones I hear all the time here and the scary thing is, I've started talking like that too. Anyone have any commonly used corporate buzzwords to add to this?

Okay, gotta go, I have a few loose ends to tie up here before I can go home and sink into obliviousness.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo