Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Smell my feet!
2004-10-31 ~ 10:37 p.m.

Trick or treating with the kids tonight - big fun, HA!

Actually, it really was kinda fun....the icky part was running all over town looking for plastic loot carrying pumpkins. Every year I do this, wait till the last minute, and every year I end up SOL....you would think I would learn, but nooooo.....

Anyway, after leaving Safeway, Wal-Mart and Party City empty handed (although Party City DID have fancy pumpkin style canvas bags for $4 - I just wasn't willing to spend that much) I decided to try Jo-Anns.....it was in the same shopping center as Party City so I figgered it couldn't hurt.

Lo and behold, they had some VERY nice Halloween baskets for 70% off.....I got one for each of the kids for $8 total....and I told Dave and Inez not to lose them cus they can be used again and again. I mean, seriously, these were nice baskets...hang on, let me see if I can find a pic on their website.

Ah, crap, never mind....anyway, they were nice baskets, very sturdy, we'll leave it at that.

So we got back to Dave's and the kids put their costumes on and Inez took pictures and then realized there was no film in the camera and she didn't know where Dave had put the extra film so she used the disposable camera they were planning on sending to John and then Dave came home and asked why she used that camera cus they had a ton of film and she said she didn't know where it was and he said it was in the car and did she just now start taking picutes and she said yes so he said well then you should have asked me where the film was and I finally butted in and said that she started taking pictures before he walked in the door and he said well then she didn't JUST start taking pictures and that's when I decided to just toss him out the window.

::deep breath::

No, I didn't really toss him out the window....but still...man, is he aggravating.

Anyway, I took the kids trick or treating, they had fun, even though maybe only one out of every five houses participated. And at one point, Susie fell backwards off someone's porch...she landed on her neck too....I tell you, God really does look out for little children.

And it was a beautiful evening for trick or treating too.....slightly cool, with a light breeze....we did the entire neighborhood...by the time we were done, I had to carry Susanna's basket bcs it was too heavy for her.

Still and all, I can't help remembering what Halloween was like when I was a kid, when ALL the neighbors participated and the streets were busy with a real sense of community...nowadays, we've all become familiar with the "code of the cul-de-sac" - if the porch light isn't on, don't even bother.

::sigh::


|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo