Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Nothing
2005-04-04 ~ 8:37 p.m.

I don't feel a thing.

I should, I know I should. My grandfather is dying; my mother and aunt are bustling around, making arrangements to fly down to Alabama for the funeral (the doctors are giving him less than a week), my brother is on the phone trying to get off work, and I don't feel a doggone thing.

I know I SHOULD feel a compelling urge to make my peace with him, to talk to him, to hold his hand one last time, but I don't.

I've been letting all these memories flash through my mind, trying to make myself care.

Memories of him and my brother and I walking to the drug store, picking out a comic book and Tastee Cake each. Or going to the playground. Or Carvel. Or the video arcade.

I remember the soapbox racer he made for Greg and I. I remember the swing he made in his backyard. I remember him filling the wading pool for us. And I remember roasting smores with him.

But I also remember his hatred for my father. I remember how he turned his back on me once I grew old enough to speak my mind, once I stopped being a complacent child. I remember how he stood aside and did nothing as his neighbor's son molested me when I was just a little older than Lissa is now. I remember his intolerance towards anyone different from himself (blacks, jews, women).

I remember last year, when we thought my grandmother was dying and I wanted to visit with her, and he told my mother to make sure that I didn't come, that he didn't want to be anywhere near me. And I acquiesed to his wishes, not for him, but because my mom didn't need any more stress than she already had.

So, I'm sorry grandpa, but I don't love you and I won't miss you.

So why am I bawling my eyes out?

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo