Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

The nature of the beast
2004-10-05 ~ 11:19 p.m.

So....there's a flame war a-brewing over at Deb's group

::sighs::

And, I guess now that I've joined the "establishment" and become a mod, I kinda have to do something to sort it out.

Hey! I wonder if I can put this on my resume: "Moderator for the largest Dark Tower related YahooGroup". Eh, probably not.

But anyway, I wrote to one of the participants and I think things are okay for now. But soon, uninvolved parties are going to have to put their two cents in and then it will just start bubbling over again. But that's just the way things work on the internet - large discussion groups like that just aren't always the best place for the thin skinned.

::abrupt change of subject::

Inez was fired on Friday - ostensibly because her talk time was too high (man, I SO do not miss being in a call center) but I doubt that's the real reason. "They" wanted to fire her, so they came up with a reason. Heck, I'm sure they could find a reason to fire just about any of us.

But I talked to her on the phone for a while and she's relatively upbeat, all things considered. She needs to find a new job quickly though, bcs the court appointed social worker from Texas is going to want to see that she will be able to support John (assuming she retains custody, which we're all pretty confident she will - they expect to have him back by Christmas). The social worker is going to interview Dave and the kids, as well, but also me. Hee. I don't know why I find that so amusing, but I do.

She says John is handling things "okay". He's pretty angry right now though - the adults are making all these decisions that are affecting him, but he isn't even getting a say in the matter. Same thing with Lissa, that's why she's so resentful. No one consulted with her when Dave and I split, no one asked her where she wanted to live, we just decided this for her. And quite frankly, it pisses her off. I can't say I blame her - Lord knows I hate it when other people decide things for me - but nothing is going to change.

I asked Inez whether she thought Dave would allow Bobby to meet the kids when he is up here next month and Inez is pretty sure he won't go for it....but I'll work on him. It's also possible our divorce will be finalized by then so he won't have a say in the matter. At the end of the day, though, I could play dirty, if I wanted - I could tell Dave that if he wants me to give a favorable report to the social worker (and not mention certain incidents) then he'll let go of his bitterness and let Bobby meet the kids....I really don't want to go there....BUT, it is very important to me that my children get to meet him....so we'll see.

I tried to convince my mother to allow Bobby to stay here next month so we won't have to pay for a hotel room, but she's adamant. She doesn't believe in premarital sex and feels that she would be a hypocrite by allowing him to stay here with me. I respect that, but it still sucks.

Ooh, I almost forgot! I need to go to Amazon and order Bev Vincent's The Road to the Dark Tower. I'm also picking up a Pokemon book and an 80's trivia book so I can qualify for "Super Saver Shipping". Man, I am SUCH a sucker.

Thought for the day: Set a man a fire, he'll be warm for a night; set a man ON fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo