Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Warning: Fuddy Duddy rant ahead
2005-04-16 ~ 10:49p.m.

Okay, so last Sunday night, Bobby and I stayed up late, just hanging out, reading comic and watching TV. It was our last night (until the next time I visit) so we didn't want to go to sleep.

So anyway, this show Elimidate came on. Now, I know this isn't really a new show, but I don't watch much TV, so it's new to me.

So I just have to ask: WTF is the deal with this show?!?!? Do the producers think all women are ho's? No, that's the wrong question. Do they think that AMERICA believes all women are ho's? Or that we WANT to see women acting like ho's. And bitches, let's not forget the bitch factor to go with the skank factor.

I was totally apalled at these "women" - I'm sorry, real women don't act like that. The full frontal cattiness and all out whorefulness these women displayed is like nothing I have ever seen.

I pretty much watched the entire show with my jaw hanging open, cursing these women for being such dreadful bitches. (At one point, Bobby jokingly asked me why, if the show pissed me off so badly, did I continue to watch? I told him it was like a train wreck.)

But I finally realized (yes, call me naive, it took me several days) that these women were not acting like that because that's what they're actually LIKE. They're simply doing what the producers want them to do.

I guess the theory is that WE, the American people, like to see women be downright nasty to each other. And the sad thing is, I guess maybe, in some way, at least some of us do. Maybe it makes us feel better about ourselves? We can compare ourselves to them and think, oh, I'm so much nicer than her, or I dress so much better than her, or oh, I would never straddle some guy's lap thirty seconds after meeting him.

Maybe that's the real reason I couldn't turn away - watching this show made me feel almost virtuous and pure?

Uck.



So. I am totally loving Cowboy Troy's "I Play Chicken with the Train." I heard this song while driving to Kentucky last weekend. Tonight, I downloaded a few more Cowboy Troy songs to give them a listen in order to decide whether I like them enough to buy the CD. And I do! I so heart this band!!!

I'm also liking Big and Rich. Oh dear, when did I become a country girl? Quick, must go listen to some Pixies and Depeche Mode and the Cure and REM and XTC and simply bury myself in alternative music until I recover.

Except I'm really liking the country right now. And you know what? I'm 36 f'n years old and I don't give a great goldamn what anyone else thinks of my musical taste. I like Britney too. And Eminem. Go ahead, mock me with your mocking mockery, I don't care.

::sticks out tongue::



I got my hair cut a few weeks ago. It turned out much much shorter than I anticipated (she cut off about eight inches...I expected four) but now that I've gotten used to it, I really like it. And Bobby likes it too, which is cool, bcs Bobby, like most men I've known (going back to my dear old daddy) prefers women long hair. But even HE said it looks better like this. Yay!

So, pictures:



Why no pictures of Ben, you may ask?

Well....that leads to a somewhat amusing anecdote. See, Attorney Leza was in the office yesterday so I made her look at pictures I had taken of Susie and Lissa this morning. I told Leza, "I have three kids, but I only really take pictures of two."

Then I realized how bad that sounded, and I had to explain. See, Ben is a beautiful little boy, so unbelievably handsome, but he's developed this little tic of licking around his face. So he's developed this dreadful rash around his mouth that we can't get rid of. And it just breaks my heart to see that so I don't take as many pictures of him. Here, look at this one:

And that isn't even as bad as it usually is.

Yesterday, I took the kids to school. As we got out of the car, Lissa said to me, "Mommy, Ben's been rubbing his face." I looked at him and he had blood all over his face and on his shirt. Seems he had just rubbed and rubbed at his face. Poor little boy.

So I took Lissa to class and Ben and Susie (I had her at the school cus she has speech therapy on Fridays. She won't actually start kindergarten until September) and I went to the health room. Mrs Edwards cleaned him up and smeared vaseline all over his face.

Of course, when I turned to get Susanna so we could walk Ben to class, she had disappeared. Lesson: never turn your back on a four year old. Those little imps are quick.

I finally found her upstairs, outside her speech therapist's office, but she got quite a stern lecture from me.

She's working on the "g" sound right now. She had a worksheet for homework that included several "g" words. She was supposed to point to each word and say "go to a _____"

Items pictured included:
a gate
a goose
a gift
a gun

A gun????

My four year old daughter is supposed to say "go to a gun"?

Now, I don't have strong feelings towards guns and gun control one way or the other, but I DO feel that guns and four years olds just do not mix. I dunno, call me radical, but that's just how I feel.



I FUCKING HATE COMCAST (well, I do this week, at least)


I promise I'll get back to 80's trivia next week. Oh, and look for a template change coming soon which will hopefully fix the wonkiness remaining from the second Great Diaryland Crash of 2005 - as soon as Comcast starts behaving itself enough - you know it took me just two minutes shy of an hour to complete this entry? Not because of dland (for a change) but because Comcast is so screwed up right now - it took that long just to upload THREE pictures. THIS is why I hardly ever update right now. No time at work (that's the problem with overtime - I feel compelled to actually WORK at work) and crippled internet service at home.

Sheesh.



The end.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo