Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Dietetic ruminations
2005-01-15 ~ 6:50 p.m.

(This started as an email to Ann but I decided to make it into a diary entry - I'm a great multitasker, huh?)

I just got one of those Endulge chocolate bars(Atkins) - very very yummy....oh my....

12g fat - not good
150 cal - that's good
2 net carbs - good

So.....overall, not something I'll eatregularly....what I'm not sure of is whether it'sbetter or worse for me than a regular candy bar....net carbs and calories, good, fat bad....and I refuse to buy into the Atkin's philosophy that one can have all the fats and fatty foods one wishes as long as the carbs are kept in check.....I just don't buy it and I think it's unhealthy.

But....this candy bar actually has 16 total grams of carbs....but the label says to only count two of them since the rest have minimal impact on blood sugar....so is that good or bad if I'm not following Atkins? Does it only count as two grams if I'm following rest of the Atkins diet?

I'm so confused....I've decided to follow the principles of South Beach, but I'm not going to follow it to the letter....I allowed myself a PB&J sandwich and a glass of iced tea as a reward for being good all week (I'm halfway to my goal for this month and the month is half over...and I didn't even start dieting until the 5th).

I think I know enough about healthy eating to do this mostly on my own....I'm going to continue eating the way I have been last week, that's not going to change....I guess what I'm saying is I wasn't supposed to have any cheats in the first two weeks and I said the hell with that...one sandwich isn't going to make a difference.

I don't know....I think that's why these books and plans are so popular....they eliminate the need to have to think, which is really helpful when trying to stick to a plan, you don't have to figure out how to make choices and that kind of thing...but then you feel hamstrung by the rules and guilty if you don't follow them.


|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo