Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Devious? Me?
2004-11-18 ~ 1:06 p.m.

So�my divorce hearing was yesterday.

Let me explain the entire process we went through and see if anyone else can identify what, to me, are a few obvious flaws in the system.

I went to the court�s website online and downloaded the appropriate forms to file for a Judgment for Absolute Divorce.

I completed the forms and brought them, along with our separation agreement, to the courthouse.

The courthouse sent me a Writ of Summons and, after a few phone calls, I found out that I was responsible for arranging to have these papers served on David.

I did a little more research into service methods and determined they could be served by any individual � it did not need to be a sheriff or commercial process server.

So, I went to Dave�s house, gave the papers to Inez, and she gave them to Dave. She then filed a Certification of Service with the courthouse.

I downloaded another form from the website so Dave could file his Answer.

I filled it out with him and then we had Inez file it at the courthouse.

Then I filed another form to request a hearing.

Prior to the hearing, I had to complete a Child Support Worksheet, which would be used to determine how much child support I would pay. (It turns out that I am obligated to pay less than I am, which is good, it means the court can�t increase my child support).

So, we went to the hearing, me, my mom and Dave (my mother was with me because I needed witness). We gave oral testimony, basically verifying the facts contained in the various documents. I gave the Master the child support worksheet I had completed.

That was it; our divorce should be final in about ten days.

Now, there are two problems, one should be apparent from the above recitation; the other, not so much.

First, the obvious one � the Child Support Worksheet. Yes, I showed it to Dave and showed him my calculations, but at no point, procedurally, was I required to do so. Also, at no point was I asked to provide proof of any of the figures on that form. Now what on earth was to prevent me from claiming my income is lower than it is, and his is higher????

Secondly, at no point were any of us asked to provide any form of ID. Conceivably, someone of malicious intent could, with some fancy footwork and a few accomplices, choose any happy couple and divorce them. There was no verification that the addresses provided on any of the forms were legitimate. No verification that we were who we said we were. Nothing.

I pointed this out to Dave later and he said, �Only you would be devious enough to think of that�.

Now, I�ll admit, I�ve had my sneaky moments, especially where my marriage was concerned (not something I�m proud of, but yeah�), but I don�t think it�s a sign of any sociopathic tendencies that I thought of this. Now, if I actually acted on it (which I wouldn�t) that might be a sign of some sort of pathology.

What do y�all think? Is this the sign of a devious mind or just an imaginative and creative one?

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo