Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

The day after
2004-11-26 ~ 11:17 a.m.

Well, Thanksgiving 2004 is now done.

It wasn't a bad one. It wasn't the best one. It just WAS.

I was in a cranky mood and acted like a petulant brat. It all started when Auntie De started in with her smart-mouthed comments about my dad. (He asked whether he should steam clean the carpets before people started arriving. Mom and De made fun of him for even suggesting such a thing - De: "With the way Steck does things, the carpets will still be wet next week")

And it just went downhill from there. I couldn't stop myself from smarting off to just about everything she said, but man, does she annoy me. I made a comment about the Macy's parade. "Who cares?" she said. Well, ME, obviously, or I wouldn't have said anything, and thankyouverymuch for dismissing my thoughts and opinions are irrelevant.

Actually, it started Wednesday night. I had located a passage in the Bible (which I am reading for the first time....I won't go into my current spiritual journey right now) which I wanted to discuss with my mother. But instead of being able to talk to her, De had to stick her nose in and start sermonizing (no pun intended) about her views and her beliefs and that we are all God's children, even the evil among us, but the Bible is nothing more than a storybook, but that's okay, because she places her faith in God to take care of her and she received a message from Him a long time ago.....and THEN she pipes up that she's an agnostic.

Um....excuse me? Okay, I admit, I don't know the actual definition of the word, but I thought it was someone who did not believe in God. Wait here, I'm going to go look it up.

Okay, not exactly. From Dictionary.com:

1a) One who believes that it is impossible to know whether there is a God
1b) One who is skeptical about the existence of God but does not profess true atheism.

That definitely seems to be in conflict with her declaration that we are all children of God.

But really, the main reason I was so upset with her is that she totally usurped my conversation with my mother. She does this ALL THE TIME. I can not talk to my mom without her butting in.

:;sighs::

I didn't come here to rant and rave though, really.

Dave bought Susanna this beautiful wine colored dress that she wore yesterday. It's velvet, with a matching petticoat that peeks out the bottom. And Lissa wore the long blue velvet dress she wore when we went to see Cats. I'll post pics as soon as they're developed.

Anyway, back to no-work for me. I'm working an 11 hour day today, and I have nothing to do.

Hope everyone had a good holiday.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo