Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

CHOCOLATE!!!
2004-11-02 ~ 12:01am

So....my birthday was Saturday. I received no actual gifts on my birthday although it was remembered and recognized by those I care the most about, so that's what's most important.

The best part was the poem Bobby wrote for me.....right at the stroke of Midnight Friday/Saturday, he sends me an email with the beautiful poem....so very, very sweet. I'd copy it here, but some things are just private between a gal and her man

And I loved the card Lissa made me too, which I posted a few days ago.

Still, when my coworkers asked me what presents I got, I had to say "none"

BUT - Chel was very late for work today....so late that we were wondering whether he would even be in....finally sometime mid-afternoon, he sweeps in, deposits a BEAUTIFULLY wrapped box on my desk, with a quiet "happy birthday" and takes his seat.

And seriously....this wrap job was exquisite...silver foil paper with a blue and silver ribbon and a pretty decorative pine cone thingy (you could tell it was a pre-wrapped gift, but I'm not complaining) I say, embarassed, "Oh, you didn't have to do this" but, as I'm trying to open it, I see the tag identifying the contents as chocolate truffles, so I say, "Ooh, yes you did"

So I'm struggling to open this box and now I can SMELL 'em too.....I start drooling and finally get the box open....lovely, lovely truffles, 36 in all.

And then, I get home from work and go into my room, and there, on my coffee table, is that signature gold bag I love so much.

GODIVA!!!!!!!

Let me know enumerate the reasons I love Godiva chocolates so much. First, of course, is the taste. 'nuff said. But there is SO much more to it than that. The SNAP the chocolates make as you bite into them. No other chocolates have that snap. The sheer sumptiousness of the gold foil box. The aroma as you open the box. The visual appeal of the beautifully decorated chocolates. Godivas deserve to be savored.

This is why I would never buy Godiva chocolates for my chocoholic of an ex-husband - he always got plain old Russell Stovers cus he just doesn't know how to appreciate good chocolate. He'd wolf them down one after another with no appreciation for their beauty.

Me, I know this box of chocolates will last weeks, if not an entire month.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo