Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

CAAAAAKE!!
2005-03-25 ~ 3:27 p.m.

Totally random entry today - I'm just a little bit all over the place.


I have NOT been dieting well this
week. Nope, not at all.

::sighs::

Full disclosure - I had french toast and bacon for breakfast today and yesterday, a steak burrito (from Baja Fresh...super yum) and lemon raspberry cake for lunch yesterday, and a steak sub and more cake for lunch today.

I need to re-jumpstart my diet. I've been hearing a lot about this Soup at Hand product....at first, I thought it just sounded disgusting....I think the thought of chugging soup like a beverage just skeeved me out....but I'm going to give it a shot...sounds cheap and convenient and I do so love soup.



Actual discussion with my daughter yesterday as I was trying to get her out of bed.

Me: Susie, do you know why I'm here? (answer I was hoping for: To take me to Miss Dana's)

Susie, sleepily: I knew you were coming today

Me: But why did I come here?

Susie: Cus you wanted to see me?

Me: Why did I want to see you?

Susie: Cus I'm so cute.



We had a fire drill today. Normally, when we have a fire drill, I'm at my desk so I can grab my coat. Also, normally, when we have a fire drill, it's not cold and raining.

Today was not a normal day.



Actual conversation with co-worker Rob - he was trying to tell me a story and I was in an ornery mood.

Rob: This one time-

Me, cutting him off: -in band camp.

Rob, starting again: Once upon a time-

Me, cutting him off again: -there were three little bears

Rob, frustrated now: One night-

Me, AGAIN: -in Bangkok

Hee.



Last Sunday night, I had dinner with the kids (and Dave and Inez). And they said grace.

Apparently, my children have been attending church services with Dave and Inez.

I spent the next five minutes at dinner frowning puzzedly. I knew this bothered me for some reason, but I couldn't figure out why.

I finally put my finger on the problem: Dave is not religious. Let me clarify that: He doesn't believe in God, he hates organized religion, and he mocks people who go to church. I have no problem with Inez taking the kids to church, but what on earth is Dave doing?

So I talked to him about it - I told him he was being a hypocrite. He said that his views hadn't changed, but he wanted to be supportive of the kids as they explore thier spirituality (or something like that). That made sense, I suppose. I just told him I want to make sure that they're not just going through the motions, trying to put on a good show for Inez's family. I don't want any sort of religiousity shoved down their throats, either.

I know Melissa has been to church before with her friend's family, and I'm fine with that. And she's come to me with questions, which so far, I think I've been able to answer - so her curiosity is legitimate

So I'm adopting a wait and see attitude for now.



Big shakeups at work - they're moving four reps from mortgage to my department. Another rep gave his notice today. So that morgage is going from a staff of eight to a staff of three. Oh dear.


And more work related news: There's a job posting out now for a project manager. I'm considering it. It would mean more money, more challenge, more responsibilty and I think I'd be good at it. But it would also mean leaving my comfort zone here (where I know what I'm doing and I know I have job security). I've talked to Chel about it briefly, but he's on vacay, so I'm going to have to wait until Monday to really get his feedback. The posting closes on Wednesday so I have to decide by then.


OH!! Last thing I have to say. I haven't updated my book reviews page (link over there to the left, I don't feel like linking it here) in a while, but I do want to mention the book I'm reading now, which I'm almost finished with - Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares. These books are just so darned good. They're....deeper than the Georgia books (which I love love love). There have been so many passages that I've just wanted to type up in post in here. As a matter of fact, I may start a quotes page where I can start sticking stuff like that.


Okay, I'm done.


No, wait, I'm not....I need an 80's lyric, dadgummit!

"What's-a matter you?"

Answer in comments please



Okay, NOW I'm done

::calls lemon raspberry cake::

C'mere, you....I'm-a gonna eat you!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo