Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

I'm so ashamed
2005-01-08 ~ 12:12 p.m.

Well, The South Beach Diet is currently huddled in the corner, bruised and bloody from me stomping all over it tonight.

I had the best of intentions, truly I did. I started my diet Wednesday and didn't cheat at all Wednesday, Thursday, Friday or MOST of today.

This evening, I decided to go visit with the kids. But see, I thought I was being smart by waiting till later in the evening. See, today is Dave's birthday and I knew Inez was making him lasagne, fresh baked bread, and angel food cake with whipped cream and strawberries for dessert....all things for which I have an incredible weakness.

So I thought, okay, I'll stay home until after dinner and dessert....I didn't count on them eating late.

So I get up there and they've just finsihed dinner. I see the lasagne pan on the stove top, with a little glob of sauce and meat in the middle. I think to myself, "Hey, sauce and meat, I'm allowed to have that.....as long as I don't have any of the pasta". So I scoop it up and it's so yummy so I scape all the rest of the sauce and meat residue off the sides of the pan.

But still, haven't really broken the diet.

So we all sit around the table waiting for Susie to join us (she had been up in her room sulking) and I'm sitting there looking at all the cake plates and thinking of angel food cake (one of my three favorite desserts, the others being tirimisu and key lime pie) and realizing I'm going to be the only one without cake so I tell Inez, "Okay, I'll just have a little piece" and then I think about it and say, "the hell with this South Beach Diet nonsense, it's like I've always said all along - the key is to eat sensibly and exercise" and basically rationalized my way into having a large piece of cake.

And then another.

And then another TINY (honestly) little sliver.

And then Dave and Inez went out.

So I had two slice of fresh baked bread.

With butter.

And an hour later, dish of ice cream.

And another slice of cake.

And on the way home - a root beer.

::burp::

Although I do feel hideously ashamed of myself, I am not going to let this throw me off course. I'm jumping right back on the South Beach Diet bandwagon.

Tomorrow.

I think it still needs some recovery time tonight.

::heads off to fix a peanut butter and jelly sandwich::

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo