Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Blue furry plushie things
2005-01-05 ~ 11:35 p.m.

So, you asked for it (shaddup, just humor me) so here it is: Vicki's New Year's recap!!

I drove down to Pikeville Thursday night. Normally I get in between two and three in the morning, but because I have the best boss EVER, I left work early on Thursday and got in around 9:30.

Of course, I got in so early that Bobby was still at work.

But that gave me time to ransack his room, looking for my missing comics, which I'd been freaking out about for the past month (incidentally, about the only thing I'm more anal retentive about than my comics is my socks).

So I found (almost) all of my missing comics and Bobby got home and we exchanged gifts and then went to sleep.

Oh? What's that you say? What did we give each other?

Wellll.....I got him a classic Atari 2600 gaming system and he got me a beautiful gold locket...but the best, the ABSOLUTE best....well, just look...

THIS is what I got him:

And THIS is what he got me:

See the similarity? Well, do ya, do ya? (Okay, if you're dumb as a stump and thick as a brick, check out the short description. If that doesn't clue you in, there's no help for you)

The next day, we go to the comic book shop, and I get my first taste of one of the perks of dating a cop: Free stuff!!

I remember, back when I was a phone slave, I was taking a customer's budget and questioned why she spent next to nothing on food. She told me she eats practically everywhere for free because restaurant owners like having her squad car parked outside their establishment. (Hey, Ellie, is that true? Do you and EE get lots of free stuff?)

I mean, yeah, I'm nice and friendly to the staff and I'm a good customer who spends a good deal of money there, but they've never given me free stuff before. But Friday, Bobby was having a conversation with another patron while I was going through my books and I guess the store staff overheard him and realized he was a police officer and just started THROWING stuff at me.

First, as I was checking out, the clerk asked whether I had all my books (I just started my folder there a few months ago, and it's taken a bit of time for them to start pulling everything). I said, pretty much, yes, but I was missing one of the What If titles but no big deal, I'd get it from Midtown. He asked which one and I told him (not thinking it would do any good bcs I had already heard they had sold out of all the What If books) and he went in the back and when he came back he had the book. Told me it was his own copy but he had already read it. And he didn't charge me for it. Then, he threw in a Pokemon booster pack. And THEN, a backissue book that I had been eyeing (but I wasn't going to pay the $10 they wanted for it).

Later, Bobby told me this kind of thing happens to him all the time, but I was totally taken aback.

So then we stopped at the liquor store so we would have something to imbibe as the ball dropped, then Chinese food and a movie (Lemony Snickett's A Series of Unfortunate Events, which I discussed in my last entry) and then home in time to NOT watch the ball drop...and could someone please explain to me why MTV did not show footage of the ball dropping? That cheesed me off big time.

So Saturday, we go to play D&D with his friends Mike, Joe and Chad, none of whom I had ever met before, but they all turned out to be really terrific guys. I had never really played D&D before (well, except for once with my friend Karen and her husband Jonny and their daughter Kaity...but Kaity was six years and Jonny had also never played and he and I ended up pretending to be sheep, which was wicked fun but I don't know whether that counts as actally playing)

So I was nervous about that but it turned out okay. I didn't really role play all that much, mostly due to shyness, but I did amuse myself by having my character refer to Bobby's character as "Freak Boy".

Unfortunately, coming home from Mike's, Bobby started feeling sick and pretty much stayed that way for the rest of our visit. I think I gave him the bug I had last week). So we basically lazed around the house Sunday and most of Monday.

By Monday evening he was feeling well enough so that we could go see Blade and get ice cream (something we always do on our last night together)...but then he got sick again and pretty much crashed for the rest of my visit.

I hated leaving him Tuesday. He was still in bed and I could just tell from looking at him how awful he was feeling....his eyes were glassy and his face was pale. I would have stayed an extra day if I could've - but I couldn't.

So yeah, that was my New Year's. I'm sure I'm forgetting something, but this entry is long enough already. I started writing it half an hour ago.

G'night, all....

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo