Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Short description THIS!!
2005-02-21 ~ 3:09p.m.

I should write something in this little box. But I have no idea what.

Lunch yesterday was nice. Christine wasn't able to make it because her daughter was sick, though, so that was disappointing. And Debbie, although she is a very sweet girl, is a major chatterbox. She never shuts up. And she's a ditz.

Hey!! Why is everyone looking at me? Shuuuut uuupp, I am NOT a babblemouth airhead! Okay, maybe I am, but that's besides the point.

So anyway, during one of Debbie's little soliloquies, Ann whispered to me, "Next time, just the two of us" and I nodded.

(Parenthetical aside - okay, I admit, I had to look it up to figure out how to spell "soliloquies" and I found out that I was using it incorrectly. I probably SHOULD have used "monologues" but I spent the time to look up the correct spelling, so damn it, that's the word I'm using!)

I did take pictures, but Ann has forbidden me to post them here. She's such a poopybutt. Everyone, please take a moment to stick your tongues out at Ann.



So I rented "Mean Girls" to watch with Lissa on Saturday night. For some reason, it didn't occur to me that it might be inappropriate for her - and for the most part, it wasn't. But there was one scene that prompted her to ask, "Mommy, what are rubbers?"

Oh dear.

I know, Dave and/or I SHOULD have had the talk with her by now (she'll be ten in May). My parents gave ME the talk when I was eight.

This talk was prompted by me asking what "rape" was. See, we had this thing in my elementary school where everyday, the teacher would pick four or five people and ask them to write a brief one sentence summation of something they had heard on the news the previous day. And it seemed every other day contained a story about rape. So I asked my mom what rape was. Several nights later, we were visiting my grandparents and we all slept in the living room. Greg and I on sofa, my parents on a trundle bed. The next day I said to my mother, "Mom, you and Daddy forgot to rape last night" Ugh, I'm cringing now just remembering that.

So anyway, I think she's ready but Dave has been stalling. Says he wants to preserve her innocence as long as possible. I understand that to a point but c'mon, she's going to learn all about it from her friends anyway - we should get to her first. I keep telling him, she doesn't need all the gritty details, but she does need the basic facts.

He has custody so I usually let him make most of the decision, but I think this is important enough for me to put my foot down. Or what do y'all think, should I give it a little longer?



No new 80's lyric bcs no one has answered the last one. gwtw pretty much gave it away in my Tag Board, but I need it in the comments please. (Yes, I'm anal retentive, just work with me please). And yeah, it goes without saying, this is just for fun, it's not to see who can Google the answers the fastest.


Speaking of Tag Board, it's down right now for some reason. Hopefully it will be back up again at some point in the near future.


Okay, I'm done.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo