Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Could I BE any more immature?
2004-12-18 ~ 1103418385

So....one thing I hate about when Auntie De is here is how she and my mom always end up treating me like a child...and of course, I hate how I ACT like a child.

They told me that I would be expected to help keep the bathroom clean. Like, hello, I haven't been doing that anyway? But I guess now that I'm actually sharing a bathroom with De, they wanted to make sure that I would do my share of the cleaning? Or something?

Anyway....so I cleaned the bathroom a few weekends ago. The following weekend I was at Bobby's and the next weekend (last weekend) they told me it was my turn. Huh. "Auntie De cleaned the bathroom last week?", I thought. But whatever, I cleaned it.

So THIS weekend is her turn, right? And I just kinda doubt she's actually going to do it. But, I thought, how can I prove it?

(warning: shameful confession ahead)

So....I took an old lipstick that I no longer use and made three teeny tiny dots on various toilet surfaces (under the lid, around the rim top and rim side. This way, I'll KNOW if she cleans it.

::sighs::

I am SO pathetic.

And petty.

But they drive me NUTS!!

The thing that infuriates me the most is this: De fancies herself to be a gourmet chef so she does a lot of cooking. (And admittedly, a lot of what she makes is quite yummy....her cardamon bread in particular.) And this cooking that she does creates a lot of kitchen mess.

More often than not, that mess stays in the kitchen until I get home from work. Then I make my dinner and, as I'm leaving the kitchen, Mom says, "make sure to clean up when you're done". Meaning, of course, to clean the entire kitchen, even if I only dirtied one pan.

So, back when Auntie De was just visiting, and not living here full time, I just got takeout every night and I wouldn't even enter the kitchen. Now she lives here and I can't afford takeout every night. So I'm back to being a kitchen slave again.

The other night, I cooked my dinner in the oven, entirely in foil, so that there would be no mess whatsoever. And still, I was asked to clean the kitchen. I gave a long dramatic sigh and did it anyway.

Next time, I have a line all ready to use though: "Sure, I'll clean it tonight, but tomorrow afternoon, I have to bake a cake so I'll expect you to return the favor and clean up my mess, thanks!"

::end petulant outburst::

Actual conversation between me and Mom:

Mom: Vic, did you borrow a shotglass out of the kitchen.

Vicki: ::thinks:: No, I don't think so, how long has it been missing.

Mom: Since last night

Vicki: Okay, that wasn't me (cus I know my short term memory isn't THAT bad). Maybe the cats knocked it over?

Mom: No, cus we didn't find any broken glass.

Vicki: Maybe they knocked it onto the carpet and rolled it off to their nest and they're waiting for the sun to shine and then they're going to magnify the sun's rays and burn a hole in wall and effect their escape from this place.

Mom: ::silence::

Then she goes to relate my comments to Auntie De, who says, "How are they going to burn the house down with broken glass"

I really think there are some pieces missing with that woman.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo