Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

The truth hurts
2004-10-21 ~ 3:03 p.m.

Sooo.....Tina and I were talking yesterday and she asked me whether I thought she should attend a childbirth class. I told her yes, absolutely, if nothing else, it will give her an idea of what to expect.

So then she asked me, "tell me the truth, Vicki, what is childbirth really like? Everyone is sugarcoating it, but I know it's not that easy, is it?"

After I finished laughing, I told her the truth: Childbirth is hell. I know that I had unusally easy labors but still....even an easy labor is no walk in the park. But I also told her that she'll get through it, and in the end, she (and her baby's father) will be SO unbelievably proud of what she's accomplished.

She then proceeded to ask about life after pregnancy (not going into details her cus that's her business, not mine to share)...but again, I told her the truth, as I've seen it and as I've read.

I also advised her to start reading some sort of parenting magazine - these mags (Parents, in particular) are great for relationship (re)building after the birth of a child.

::sigh::

I know I gave her good information and advice, but I don't think she handled it well....she seems to be quite a bit freaked out.

A few days ago, I recommended that she read "Little Earthquakes" by Jennifer Weiner - Tina and I both like chick lit, and Weiner's books are definitely a step above your average chick lit....but after reading through the book (I had just started it at the time I recommended it - I was really more recommending the author as opposed to the particular title) I told her not to read it until after she had had the baby....and preferably not until she was fairly comfortable with motherhood.

There is a very realistic depitction of labor that I just know would terrify her....and descriptions of the first days at home with a new baby that I just don't think she's ready for.

But....all mothers go through it and most mothers get through it....and Tina's strong, I know she will too.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo