Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Kids and doctors
2004-12-01 ~ 10:59 a.m.

For some reason, I haven�t been able to get myself motivated enough to update the past couple of days. I think my fabled short attention span is kicking in. It just seems, right now, that I can�t sit still or focus on one task for very long. I�ve had no problem flitting around the internet and reading diaries and such. But to actually sit down and try to write intelligently, I don�t seem to have it in me right now.

Maybe that�s why I haven�t felt like reading a real book the past couple of days either.

I don�t suffer from ADHD or anything like that�but I wonder if maybe the way I am feeling is kind of an empathic thing. Ben is displaying all the signs of ADHD himself and he�s gotten significantly worse in the past few weeks, to the point where I really think he may be a danger to himself and to others. Not out of maliciousness, of course, but just because he has so little control over his body right now. He�s in constant motion, whipping his arms and legs and head around in every which way. He nearly cracked some kid in the head at wrestling last week.

I called my pediatrician a week ago to get him in to be seen. After two days, she finally called me back and said I should take him to a psychiatrist, that it wasn�t necessary for him to have a physical exam. Okay, whatever. I called the psychiatrists she recommended but none of them could get him in until the end of January. So I asked a coworker who lives in this area to recommend his pediatrician (since we�ve been dissatisfied with ours anyway) but she�s in the same practice with our current doc.

So then I just started calling pediatricians and psychiatrists at random. Unsurprisingly, I had no luck there.

Finally, close to tears (out of anger and frustration, as well as concern for my child) I decided to try using our EAP (Employee Assistance Program).

Finally, success!!

I now have an appointment for both Dave and I to speak with a counselor about Ben, and then one for Ben himself two days later. It�s still about three weeks away, but still, its progress,

Now I need to get Lissa to a dermatologist. Her eczema is out of control.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo