Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

BOOKS!!
2004-12-01 ~ 7:50 p.m.

Okay, this is a list of what I've read so far this year, with a VERY short blurb about the book, or it's impression on me, or something. I would not call these itsy-bitsy reviews.

I will, however, starting next year, being writing a mini-review for each book as I read it, so stay tuned.

Bee Season � Not a topic I had ever read anything about before � Jewish mysticism. Not a fast read either; very quiet and thoughtful though.

Out to Pasture � about life in a nursing home. Not my cup of tea.

Babyville � Jane Green. I liked this one. I think I would have liked it better had I know, going into it, that it was really more like three interconnected novellas, rather than one cohesive novel

Tell No One � Typical Harlan Coben, meaning very fast paced and suspenseful. I loved it.

The DaVinci Code � Not bad, not great�.interesting concept though.

Feeling Sorry for Celia � YA. One of the better YA books I�ve read.

Hollywood Divorces � NOT Jackie Collins� best work�.not at all

B is for Burglar � I want to like Sue Grafton�s alphabet series, I really do. So far though, they haven�t grabbed me. But I�ll keep trying

Over what Hill � Sequel to Out to Pasture�.I only read it because I had it out from the library

Getting over Jack Wagner � Non-formulaic chick lit

Three to Get Deadly � LOVE Stephanie Plum.

Relic � Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston�.more intelligent than your average thriller

My Perfect Life � Sequel to Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen, from a different POV�a bit off putting, but still a good read

1st to Die � sloppy writing, engrossing story

One Hit Wonder � Lisa Jewell�.not her best

Fat Girls and Lawn Chairs � I picked this one up for the title�.a bunch of essays�.eh, not bad, not great

No Second Chance � Harlan Coben again�.one of my very favorite authors�.

The Princess Diaries � YA�.nothing special here

Watermelon � I resisted Marian Keyes for so long, no idea why�.but now I�m hooked. I loved this book, I really wavered back and forth on how I wanted it to end

Sloppy Firsts � Excellent YA

How to Cook a Tart � The title will make sense�.eventually

Deal Breaker � Harlan Coben�s first Myron Bolitar book. Different from his non-series books�.still very good

Coffee and Kung Fu � Eh�okay, I guess

Can you Keep a Secret � Sophie Kinsella��nuff said.

The Lovely Bones � A beautiful book

In Her Shoes � Jennifer Weiner. Chick lit with brains

Dating Dead Men � To me, Harley Jane Kozak will always be Mary Capwell, crushed to death by a giant letter �C�. The book was good though

Portrait of a Killer � didn�t finish

Confessions of a Tax Collector � Fascinating�.but, I have it on good authority (a current Revenue Agent) that the IRS does not work like this any longer

Dumping Billy � Not bad

Under the Duvet � NF Marian Keyes�decent

Good Grief � well written, but not engrossing

Song of Susannah � Book 6 of The Dark Tower series�.a fast read, but mostly filler

To Have and to Hold � another book where I was torn over how I thought it should end

Away Laughing on a Fast Camel � Hilariosity�.I LOVE Georgia Nicholson

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination � Sucked

2nd Chance � Not as good as 1st to Die�but still, a quick, thrilling read

Bet Me � Jennifer Crusie�..the best chick lit of the year

Just One Look � More Harlan Coben�.probably his most convoluted plot so far

Eats, Shoots and Leaves � I found myself being hyper-sensitive to punctuation issues after reading this

Child of my Heart � I surprised myself by crying

The Wide Window � the third Lemony Snickett book

The Miserable Mill � the fourth Lemony Snickett book

I'm a stranger here myself � Bill Bryson�not bad�.but I was led to expect hilarity, which I didn�t get

The earth, my Butt, and Other Big Round Things � Another one I chose for the title�.fairly forgettable YA

Dress your Family in Corduroy and Denim � David Sedaris�.nothing to rave about, but nothing to criticize either

The Other Side of the Story � Keyes� latest.

Deviant Way � WAY too convoluted�.I just didn�t �get� this one

Road to Ruin � UGH! I love Donald Westlake�s Dortmunder books�.but this one fell flat

Something Borrowed � very good chick lit about friendship. Excellent.

The Dark Tower � Oh dear. I can�t sum this one up in a short sentence. Overall, the book was wonderful, but highly flawed.

The Road to the Dark Tower � Essential reading for the DT junkie

Shopaholic and Sister � Becky is BACK!!!! She seems to be growing up�.slowly

Little Earthquakes � Not as good as her first two books. The characters didn�t seem fully fleshed out. I didn�t �feel� them.

The Amateur Marriage � My first Ann Tyler. Hm. I don�t get it. I hear so much good stuff about her, but I don�t see what�s so wonderful. The book was okay�.

Damage � Overhyped

Cassandra French's Finishing School for Boys � I loved this concept and the execution was great too

Adam and Eve and Pinch Me � a slow read, but a good one. Ruth Rendell is going on my list of favored authors

Left Behind � Terrific. Definite food for thought, for me at least.

Pilgrim � Couldn�t finish

The Fur Person � Adorable. I�m getting this for my daughter for Christmas.

I Don't Know How She Does It - starting off interesting, got boring and predictable real fast, didn't finish

The Day I Turned Uncool: Confessions of a Reluctant Grown-up - Short humorous essays. Kinda like Dave Barry, without the boogers.

Books 2005

To RIF.org

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo